We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve on the small things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carmel Garden Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Garden Inn
NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Needs to improve on the small things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The positives. Everyone working at the B&B including the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The limited breakfast items are all made fresh and the rosemary cookies offered during the wine social in the evening being especially tasty and certainly unique.

The negatives may come across as nitpicky but they impacted our overall stay. The new owners are slowly improving the property and the rooms are showing some wear that needs addressed. The TV in our room was one of the old fashioned, non-flat screen, non-HD TV's despite the presence of cable. We are not there to watch TV but killing time before dinner reservations, it would have been nice to actually be able to watch what was on. There is a lack of hot breakfast items. Scones made the second morning were delicious. Despite informing the owners of my wife's allergy to bananas during booking, the first morning's breakfast, sure enough, featured banana bread as a core item. The woman working that morning offered scrambled eggs which my wife also ordered the second day and are supplemented with just one piece of toast, with no butter or jam on the side.

The room hosting the breakfast/evening wine social is remodeled and quite nice. With ten rooms and presuming 20 people max, staying at a given time, it would have been nice to have had a couch/coffee table and maybe one additional softer chair for ambiance during the evening wine, substituting out a couple of the diner-style tables and chairs. More conducive to conversation than the breakfast table/chair setting. I can understand not having a local newspaper for each room but having the morning's paper, whether local or from San Francisco, in the common area would have been a nice touch on a Saturday/Sunday morning to obtain some local news and flavor of events planned.

As I said earlier, this B&B is clearly being upgraded but the rooms themselves are quite stark. Our room was dark with wood interiors and limited natural lighting. Hotel "art" is way overstated but in our entire room there were two maybe 12X12 pictures throughout. Some larger, brighter pictures throughout could have provided more ambiance to the darkness within our room. A Canadian couple that we ended up spending some time with during breakfast/evening wine and walking into town complained about their fireplace backing-up smoke into their room. Apparently it happened a second night to the extent that the husband was amazed the smoke alarm did not go off and they had to sleep with the windows open to clear out the air.

In summary. This is a nice place with owners and workers who care. I am certain that over time they will upgrade rooms and offer more amenities you see in other B&B's. We would stay here again but might check out other properties in the area for better deals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are clear and correct in pointing out several of our deficiencies and this helps us fine tune our priorities. As a result of some of your comments, Orchid now has three beautiful prints of Orchids, a large new painting, the old TV (the last one to be replaced of all the rooms) will be retired after Thanksgiving, at least three of the walls will soon be painted white, and new lighting fixtures and two more lamps are to be installed. You did not mention the windows that date from 1949 when the Inn was built. The tired old aluminum windows in both Orchid and Rosita are scheduled to be replaced the first week in December. We try to be attentive to dietary needs but obviously have to be more vigilant. So...Thanks for your comments, thanks for possibly staying with us again, and thanks for your candor; much appreciated. We all will keep up our efforts. In appreciation, Julian and all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was the first time in Carmel and I happened to make a perfect choice!
I loved this nice B&B. It hade a real nice time relaxing in front of the fireplace that was not gas by the way, LOL. They had a comfy couch and it was a little chilly in the evening. Breakfast was great and Mary was overly attentive :) She prepared eggs, and I had the freshly baked scones yum.
I am going back in January for business and will always stay at this inn if they have a room available.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, some have patios if you have a dog, they're dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We received your review with a lot of enthusiasm. Here at the Inn probably the single greatest benefit of owning and or working here is your praise and recognition of our service. And to have you return makes us so very happy. Our decision NOT to go the easy way with gas fireplaces certainly has set us apart from the other Inns in Carmel. As you know, we continue to add to our dining menu and improving the rooms. We are especially looking forward to the several dog days next year. Thank you for mentioning we are dog friendly. Many thanks, Julian and all of us here. Mary was particularly pleased by your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This small inn operated much like a B&B. It is old but refurbished. It's the kind of place you would like to stay in if you are in a town like Carmel or somewhere in New England. It has that homey feel and sound, like going to your grandparents house (a good thing). We were greeted with a wine and cheese buffet when we arrived and had a substantial breakfast prior to departure. The staff was accommodating and friendly. It was clean. Our room looked out to the patio and it had a fireplace, although we did not take advantage of it. We were very pleased and would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We all appreciated your comparing coming to our Bed and Breakfast to "like going to your grandparents house (a good thing)". How very well put. We welcome your comments and look forward to seeing you again. Julian and us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carmel Garden Inn in September for the second time this year. The property is a quaint building tucked away off the main drag, adorned with beautiful flowers. The rooms are small but have everything you need to have a wonderful weekend (or longer) in Carmel. The mattresses on the king beds are more than comfortable and each room comes with its own wood-burning fireplace for those cool coastal days. The owners treated us like we were family for both our stays with them. They are more than friendly, love to hear your plans for the weekend and are quick to provide excellent recommendations that will enhance your stay in the town. The dog-friendly reception area has 4-5 tables for the included homemade breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese hour. We have been thoroughly impressed with both of our stays at the Inn and hope that you will enjoy your stay there too!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own front garden attached, so every one is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated. One of the greatest compliments we can have is returning happy guests. All of us really enjoy telling our guests of the many special things to see and do, eat and drink in our village. However, our Inn affords us the opportunity to listen to the many stories and experiences, likes and dislikes of our guests. A treasure trove of sharing. Thank you, for your review and for staying with us twice so far. See you soon, Julian and us all here at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Carmel, with the best bed and breakfast accomodation! I loved the room, as it was cozy and had a warm and inviting feel to it, as if it were a home away from home, with a cozy fireplace, nice bathroom with full shower and tub, and luxurious, comfortable bed, with sitting area and large patio, great to relax and take in the beautiful fushia plants and beautiful trees surrounding the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review and comments.. Our gardens are being planted for the winter this week and our decorations for the season are coming along well. Your appreciation of our Inn makes us all so very proud. Thank you! Julian and us all at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stopped in Carmel and had a brief but very enjoyable stay at the Carmel Garden Inn. It truly is a garden setting with cozy brick patio, colorful plantings and birdsong. The hosts Dennis and Julian were very welcoming and helpful in recommending an excellent restaurant for dinner, The Flying Fish. Being long time Carmel residents they have a wealth of information. Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and breakfast buffet were both excellent and nicely displayed. Our room had a king bed with good linens, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a mini kitchen although I think that is superfluous given the evening and morning goodies offered in the dining area. The bathroom was very small but I understand that will be corrected in an upcoming remodel. All in all it was delightful and at a very good pricepoint for Carmel and the short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of us and our Inn. Your comments reflect an appreciation of what we are now. As the months go by, we will continue to make further improvements. However, as many of you have told us, we absolutely must maintain our sense of history and respect for the Inn, its gardens, and architectural integrity. Therefore, all remodeling with be functional and not change the aesthetics of the rooms or gardens. Fortunately, our remodeling appears to be rather non-invasive with little or no interference to our guests.Thank you again for your review and critique of how we are doing. Thanks! Julian and on behalf of us all at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I and our two poodles visited Carmel for the annual Poodle Day activities a week ago. It was our first visit to Carmel Garden Inn and we had one delightful discovery after another as we walked through the garden to our room. First was our spacious private brick courtyard under the oaks with table and seating for four, then into the room with a terrific new eastern king mattress, lots of space around the bed, a fireplace, a mini kitchen with table and seating, a new TV on the wall, a DVD player and a small library of old classic movies in the lobby (free - we watched The Maltese Falcon). Even our dogs got sheeted beds. The bathroom is small but adequate, and is scheduled for upgrades.

Wine, cheese, and other treats were provided in the late afternoon and many of the guests gathered around the tables in the common garden area. There is also common indoor seating if the weather is poor. Breakfast was spectacular and to call it extended continental seems an understatement. On various days we had scones, frittata, muffins, a fabulous chili cornbread with salsa, hard boiled eggs, homemade granola, yogurt... oh my. And the coffee could not be better.

I can't imagine choosing to stay anywhere else in Carmel.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that open to the garden. There are less expensive rooms that open to Torres althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review, staying with us and sharing our love of Poodles. Trevi, our silver standard, is shy having been attached by a large dog recently, but had a very good time thanks to all the poodles who stayed with us and you and your two especially. What fun! Your descriptions of our inn are also appreciated for their depth and detail. One of the many things that made purchasing the Inn last March so attractive was the luxury all the common areas and gardens afford. So many guests from strangers enjoying our wine party, to family reunions to Poodle day attendees get to mingle casually, sitting and talking in our gardens and dining room. Thank you again and see you same time next year, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Carmel Garden Court Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.