We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to stay in Carmel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Green Inn

Save Saved
You added Lincoln Green Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lincoln Green Inn
26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Perfect spot to stay in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family lived in Carmel for many years and after we no longer had a family house to stay in, we wanted a spot that felt like "Home". The Lincoln Green Inn is just such a place! It is absolutely perfect. We feel like we are in our own little cottage. The cottages are near Scenic Drive that fronts beautiful white sanded Carmel beach. We love to take walks and it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach.
The rooms are wonderfully maintained and everything is always just perfect when we stay in our favorite cottage, the "Robin Hood". The beds and all the amenities are first class. The breakfast is delivered every morning on time and is always wonderful.
There is even an Inn cat named "Buddy" that likes to visit our cottage every day! He is a wonderful touch that we loved as he is SO friendly and lots of fun!
We visited for a week at Christmas this year and the fireplace mantle was decorated with holiday lights and greens.
We will never stay any where else when we are in Carmel...it would be hard to find anything that is as quiet, private and beautiful and the Lincoln Green Inn!
Barbara E.

Room Tip: Select the robin Hood Cottage if you need 2 bedrooms and don't need a full kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a peaceful, relaxing stay at the Lincoln Green Inn over Christmas with our 2 dogs. It's location is just blocks from 2 beaches (one is a dog beach) and the beautiful nearby homes make wandering the neighborhood fun for everyone. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.The afternoon cheese and wine is served in front of an roaring outside fireplace. I loved that you have so many choices for breakfast and that it is delivered to your cottage every morning at your specified time.

The inside of our cottage was warm and comfortable with plenty of storage for our personal items. Plus there was a fully equipped kitchen and coffe, tea, and snacks. We had lots of rain during our stay, so we spent a lot of time snuggled up in our cozy place. We were supposed to be there for 5 nights, but had to leave after just 4 nights due to an emergency at home. Despite the rain and cutting our trip short, we had a wonderful stay and a memorable Holiday weekend. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our very first visit to Carmel, as well as to the Lincoln Green Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased with our 3-night stay over the Columbus Day weekend. My husband and I stayed in the Little John cottage with our 8-year-old shepherd-mix "fur-child". Our dog decided shortly after our arrival that she did not care for the crowds and traffic noises in downtown Carmel, so we were grateful for the Inn's location in a quiet residential area just south of town. We could have easily walked into town, but we wouldn't recommend it as there aren't any sidewalks or street lamps once you get away from the main shopping district. We did take advantage of being just a 5-minute walk to the south end of Carmel Beach, which was a great off-leash dog beach for our morning walks.

While the 4 cottages plus office building are very closely situated to one another on the property, we experienced nothing less than total quiet and privacy during our stay. This sensation was greatly enhanced by the artful placement of hedges and perennial garden beds throughout the property. We loved the Little John cottage with its comfy king bed next to the fireplace and its cute fully appointed kitchen with its tiny breakfast nook. I loved the kitchen so much that I wanted to make all of our meals there had we not already made dinner reservations...and I never want to cook while on vacation! You would never know that dogs have stayed at the Inn for how meticulously clean and well-kept the cottage and gardens were maintained.

While we have decided that Carmel isn't really our "scene", we would consider the Lincoln Green Inn as a worthy standalone destination. We would love to return and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet haven that's close (but not too close) to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

After researching all the inns in Carmel for the ever important honeymoon, we decided on the Lincoln Green in because of it uniqueness. The Inn has beautiful gardens and the Inn keepers are really friendly and hospitable. We stayed in Little John which was perfect for a honeymoon stay with a romantic gas fireplace, large bed, and a sunroof just over the fireplace and bed. The cottage as a great color theme of blue and white and the artifacts and decor all compliment this very well. The tv room is very comfortable with a sofa. There is individual WiFi for the cottage with great reception throughout. The kitchen is very quaint with great views of the country style gardens. The morning breakfast was good and delivered to the cottage, so that was very helpful for honeymoon stay. Overall, the Lincoln Green Inn was the perfect place for our honeymoon. Thanks again to all the staff for making our honeymoon so wonderful.

Room Tip: Little John is perfect with a large bed and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Az.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Many other choices in town have constant traffic noise. Not here! It is so peaceful you enjoy all the special touches. The gardens, the bed, the linens, the afternoon wine and cheese, the cottage itself and last but not least Buddy the cat who serves as greeter.
We have come to Carmel for years and we regret not finding this oasis sooner!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

One of the best places I have ever stayed in! We were in the Little John cottage and it was perfect for the 4 of us, they have a pull out sofa bed in a separate room that my kids enjoyed. Loved all the little details from the way the cottage was decorated to how breakfast was delivered in the morning. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, I loved sitting by the fireplace at the wine and cheese reception just staring at the beauty of the place. Housekeeping came by every morning and cleaned EVERYTHING, such a great job and friendly too. The cottages are right next to the beach (about 1 block walk) and about 1 mile from downtown. Very quiet and relaxing at night did not hear anything, such a nice vacation and we cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would highly recommend Lincoln Green Inn, offering an intimate setting that’s so inviting; private cottages with beautiful country-style gardens. We were welcomed by friendly staff; they were helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit.
The interior of our cottage was so quaint and spacious. Each morning our breakfast was delivered. We enjoyed our meal outside on the private deck. And before the dinner hour we were offered a nice assortment of wine and cheese by their outdoor fireplace in the garden. This is an exceptional place to stay and made my visit to Carmel a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All the cottages are private and offer quality amenities. The bed was so comfortable with lots of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lincoln Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Green Inn

Also Known As:
Lincoln Green Hotel
Lincoln Green Hotel Carmel
Address: 26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, breathtaking beauty: four enchanted cottages, lush English gardens, wine and cheese reception, breakfast basket, close to Carmel Beach and Artisan Village. Lincoln Green Inn, a historic bed and breakfast built in 1925, delivers one to the enchanted era of Shakespearean England. Enter the lush English country gardens and be enveloped by a delightful visual banquet, enjoy warm and professional guest services, relax in the elegance of these beautiful cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lincoln Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Green Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.