We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Green Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lincoln Green Inn to your Saves list
Lincoln Green Inn
26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here on a family vacation, so we booked 4 of the cottages. All were comfortable and cute; most had full kitchens, which was really great for us.

Pretty garden with lots of sitting areas. The cottage I was in, Friar Tuck, had a side yard with a lounge chair. Little John also had a nice attached yard area.

I loved having breakfast delivered in the morning- lots of choices for a continental breakfast, but since there's a kitchen, you can also supplement.

Friendly cat is a bonus.

Close enough to walk to the beach. Can walk into town, but it's not super close.

Room Tip: Look through the cottage descriptions to see which one suits you best. Of the 4 that I saw (Robin H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I have traveled and lived the world over and Lincoln Green exceeded any expectations we may have had. The grounds are lovely, the cottages are beautifully detailed, and the wine/appetizers in the afternoon is just frosting on the cake. After staying in Maid Marian cottage we didn't want to go home. A delightful weekend, with supreme thanks to Lincoln Green. It doesn't get any better than this, believe me. Wish I didn't have to share it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently had a wonderful stay at Lincoln Green Inn. To sum it up in one word? Perfection! We stayed in friar tuck cottage and it was wonderful. The perfect balance between quaint Carmel and touches of luxury. Yes, it is a little pricey, but we left feeling like we got very good value for our money. Everything from thick plush towels, wonderful bedding, wine in the garden in the afternoon and breakfast delivered to our cottage left us feeling very pampered. Throw in being able to bring our dog and have a short walk to the beautiful beach, and it left us feeling we will be back very soon! Thanks so much Lincoln Green Inn for your fantastic hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Lincoln Green Inn. The Friar Tuck Cottage was the perfect setting for our romantic anniverary getaway. The rooms were clean,the area was quiet and the staff was brilliant. The gardens were well kept and the wine and cheese every evening added a nice touch. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Lincoln Green Inn has 4 lovely cottages. We stayed at the Maid Marian and it was absolutely charming. We felt lime we were in the South of France with all of the French decorations. The bed was a heavenly bed! You get to pick your breakfast menu and they deliver whenever you wish. Carmel beach is only 3 blocks away and Ocean ave where the Carmel shops are is about 3 mins drive. My 20 month old son loved the place too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We conducted a LOT of research prior to our third trip to Carmel. This was our first trip there with kids - and we chose it based on great reviews on the internet. We wanted someplace kid friendly and convenient to the beach and town. Before kids, we were avid gardeners, so the grounds were like heaven on earth to us. Our kids (4 and 6) are still in the temper tantrum stage - so we remained a bit stressed throughout the visit of disturbing the neighbors - even with closed windows and doors, but that was really the only drawback. We stayed in Friar Tuck and were very pleased with the comfort, cleanliness, and ameneties. The fully equipped kitchen was great for us since we were able to prepare and have picnic lunches quite easily. We never took part in the complimentary breakfast, though at the end of the vacation, we regretted not doing so. The wine and cheese was a nice touch at the end of the day, with no pressure to mingle with other guests. Juice was provided for our kids. The girls absolutely fell in love with Buddy the resident cat. The only downside to the entire trip was on day 2 (or 3) when the refrigerator broke down and I had to throw out about $25 in untouched food. However, once I notified the office, a dorm sized replacement refrigerator was provided. Overall, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This Inn is exactly what we needed! We were totally stressed from work, and lets not forget the preasure of holidays... The Lincoln Green Inn is located in a wonderfully quiet resedential area,the gardens have lavender and roses. Who could not like that!, so beautiful and peaceful. The Inn sits between two Carmel beachs,the river beach which flows into the ocean, perfect for bird watchers! views of point lobos state park, which I've been told the story of "Treasure Island " was writen after, when the fog would come in, Point Lobos looked like an island. This place is so rich. The Carmel beach is on the other side of the Inn just a couple of blocks away. Again! fantastic! with views of Pebble Beach golf course in one direction and Big Sur coast line in the other. There is even a piano bar/restuarant owned by Clint Eastwood down the street.
Our cottage has a living room with a fireplace, bedroom and a full kitchen, and private yard with chaise lounges! Cheese and wine was served at 4pm each day. The staff is wonderful, always willing to make suggestions regarding restaurants, day trips, even massage service that comes to you, opposed to going somewhere.
This is our last night. Thank you to my husband for surprising me with this get-away. We have relaxed,hiked,laughed and can't wait to do it again. Thank you Lincoln Green for being away from the noise of delivery truck etc. that usually comes with staying downtown. You are a TREASURE. See you next January!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincoln Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Green Inn

Address: 26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, breathtaking beauty: four enchanted cottages, lush English gardens, wine and cheese reception, breakfast basket, close to Carmel Beach and Artisan Village. Lincoln Green Inn, a historic bed and breakfast built in 1925, delivers one to the enchanted era of Shakespearean England. Enter the lush English country gardens and be enveloped by a delightful visual banquet, enjoy warm and professional guest services, relax in the elegance of these beautiful cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lincoln Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Green Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Green Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.