We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ocean Ave, 2nd East Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was taking my wife on a driving trip up the coast of California and spent an evening in Carmel. This little gem of a restaurant had great reviews and a surprisingly low price point for the area so I made a reservation for the night we would be in town. This restaurant seemed to be the only place in Carmel that was full and alive after the shops closed down. There were quite a few people trying to get in to Dametra while most other restaurants appeared to have plenty of space and after eating here I know why.

The food is fantastic and reasonably priced. The host and the decor make you feel like the place was lifted out of the Mediterranean and plopped down on the main street of Carmel. You will need a reservation so keep that in mind! We arrived a few minutes early and our table was not ready yet, but we were greeted with enthusiasm and the host gave both my wife and I a complimentary glass of wine while we waited. And it was a pretty decent glass of wine as well -- he did not just give us the cheapest glass on the menu, but rather one of the more expensive ones because he thought it was what his guests would enjoy. (And he was right! I ended up ordering more of that same wine with my dinner)

The food is true Mediterranean style with influences from Greece and Turkey and Lebanon but was fantastic. Prepared perfectly with generous but not overly large portions. The staff of the restaurant seems to enjoy what they do, stopping everything to perform a song a dance and bringing some of the diners into the celebration with them. It felt genuine, not like a "happy birthday" experience at chili's but a real moment of celebration with their guests. When we left the host personally thanked us for coming to his restaurant and gave both my wife and I a hug. Again it felt like he really was grateful we chose to spent an evening in his place instead of somewhere else. All in all it was an amazing dinner and can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    1,053
    186
    62
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Very Good Food Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If nothing else you will be entertained. Grouchy old people should avoid Dametra as you will only spoil it for the rest of the patrons. This place is just plain fun and full of color.

The experience begins with a very friendly host who likes to shake hands and hug. Our table was not ready so he got us a complimentary glass of wine to ease the pain of waiting, which was less than 5 minutes. The Chef sings while the host plays a Greek guitar, the guests clap to the music and join right in: some even get up and dance in the narrow path between tables. It's all fun.

Smile, have fun and rock the evening away folks. Not your normal over priced vacation restaurant.

Oh yes, the food is very good and surprisingly inexpensive for the location on Ocean Avene in downtown snobish Carmel-by-the-Sea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Dametra Café for lunch today and it was very good! We just stumbled upon it and were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and they did not mind that we had two toddlers with us. They were super friendly to the kids and talked to them as if truly interested - that doesn't happen normally. The food was very good - I really enjoyed the spinach pie and my husband enjoyed the chicken schwarma. Oh and the bread they bring to the table before the meal is yummy - warm and fresh. Lovely atmosphere, lovely and fun staff, and great food. Very nice way to spend our lunchtime!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved this restaurant. The food was wonderful, the management and employees were charming. During dinner they all, including the excellent chef, sang, danced and played various instruments. The place is tiny and crowded but the atmosphere created by all was friendly, informal and fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best meal we ate while in California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

While walking around Carmel we noticed how busy Dametra Café was. Upon returning to the hotel we called and the hostess took our info and said they would call if something came up earlier than our reservation time. The fantastic thing is they did call back and we got in an hour earlier than we had booked.
The atmosphere was fantastic - although the negatives were the tables are very close together, so hard to have romance. We were also right near the door into the restaurant and people keep coming in and the door was left open - which would have been fine if it weren't so chilly.
The staff put on a performance which was fun. The staff were also very welcoming and attentive. Our meal was the best part of the experience. I had the Fisherman’s Cioppino which was incredible. My husband had a Greek Combination Platter which had gyros, chicken kabob and hummus and he also really enjoyed his dinner. Overall it was one of our most enjoyed meal while in California.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dametra Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.