We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we ate while in California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ocean Ave, 2nd East Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best meal we ate while in California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

While walking around Carmel we noticed how busy Dametra Café was. Upon returning to the hotel we called and the hostess took our info and said they would call if something came up earlier than our reservation time. The fantastic thing is they did call back and we got in an hour earlier than we had booked.
The atmosphere was fantastic - although the negatives were the tables are very close together, so hard to have romance. We were also right near the door into the restaurant and people keep coming in and the door was left open - which would have been fine if it weren't so chilly.
The staff put on a performance which was fun. The staff were also very welcoming and attentive. Our meal was the best part of the experience. I had the Fisherman’s Cioppino which was incredible. My husband had a Greek Combination Platter which had gyros, chicken kabob and hummus and he also really enjoyed his dinner. Overall it was one of our most enjoyed meal while in California.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    1,051
    184
    62
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent greek/Lebanese fusion cuisine.
charming, intimate atmosphere
Besame Mucho sung by one of the chefs and played on mandolin by owner
What's not to love?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over crowded and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I don't understand the number 1 rating for this restaurant. The greeter, whom I assume to be the owner was very friendly and offered a warm greeting. We were seated at the last table for two which gave me an unwelcome view into the kitchen. Patrons waiting for the bathroom, which is through the kitchen, waited their turn right by our table. I ordered the moussaka, a kind of Greek comfort food, which was good and plentiful. My wife ordered ravioli which came on a plate with only six or seven pieces. We noted everyone in the restaurant was seated cheek to jowl allowing for no privacy. We felt we paid too much for what we got. The next evening we ate at the Mission Ranch where, although we paid more, we felt we received excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Dametra deserves its very high ranking EVEN THOUGH the food is "only" very good. That is because the service and ambiance is so special. Our experience began when we called to see how long the wait was. The host asked, "where are you friend." When I told him we were staying nearby, he put my name on the waiting list and said he'd call when a table was going to be available in 15 minutes! And he called!! Clever marketing, and necessary since there is virtually no place to wait in this tightly-packed, cozy-yet-high-energy, pretty-yet-unpretentious little place. Once we were seated, the wait staff was attentive and very efficient. And it felt like we were in a Mediterranean village. We definitely enjoyed our food too. Though, to be honest, we have had better. Still, the food is good enough that you don't want to miss the fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Maybe we ordered wrong?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had lunch here on a family trip with my parents, aunt, and uncle. Was very excited about eating here after reading the reviews. Maybe we ordered the wrong items, but it was nothing special at all. Decor is charming, restaurant small, service friendly and efficient. Greek menu looked interesting. The grilled vegetable salad (mushrooms, eggplant) sounded delicious but was just blah. Mushy, pre-grilled, tasteless vegetables over spinach and totally drenched in a heavy balsamic dressing. Almost inedible. The side salads featured lettuce only and were also drowning in dressing. The Tuscan pizza was okay, very thin crust (which we like), sauce and toppings nothing special. We did love the crusty bread and ate more than we should have to round off our meal because our salads and entrees totally missed the mark. Maybe we were there on a bad day. The restroom can only be reached by walking into the kitchen area where you squeeze against the back wall to avoid a collision with servers and trays of food. Restroom was not clean and smelled off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dametra Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.