We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I swear is was in Europe.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ocean Ave, 2nd East Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 152 restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I swear is was in Europe.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I were in CA for a few days of golf at Pebble Beach, however before we came, we knew we wanted to check out Carmel and the dining. Dametra Cafe is #1 on Trip Advisor for a reason.
Please don't be intimidated by the close quarters (if you have been to Europe, this is normal).
The staff is amazing and the owner introduced himself at our table and later thanked us for coming. You can tell his soul in this restaurant and we fed off of his infectious vibe.
Our spanokopita appetizer was so fresh and flavorful, I had to stop eating so I could enjoy my meal. There are so many Greek and Italian dinner selections it's difficult to choose...
The best part of the experience is when the owner and wait staff break out playing music and interacting with the guests, my husband said he hasn't seen me smile that much in a long time. Please go, you won't regret this choice!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    1,052
    186
    62
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We relied on the trip advisor reviews and we were very disappointed; not particularly authentic or tasty. This is probably the only time we found the reviews were the opposite of the experience so I feel compelled to warn others. It is not that it was bad, just mediocre at best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Lack of Authenticity Lets it Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The tables are quite close together, which is fine if you like listening to your neighbors' conversations. Our waitress, Melissa, was very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately, some of the food lacked flavor and authenticity. The Greek salad for example was very tasty, but had little to do with Greece. The lamb shank, very tender as it was, had no original Greek flavor, but tasted of cheap gravy granules. Even the Gyros was sausage meat and not slices of "real" meat, which is typical of Turkey or Greece. Apparently, the owners are Jordanian and Syrian, so why don' t they prepare their native food instead of Greek, Italian etc. That would be more authentic at least.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived for a late lunch at the Dametra Café on a weekday in Carmel. I had read about it at some blog and decided to visit as I really enjoy mediterranean/arabic food. We did not wait long for a table although the restaurant was busy. Staff was nice and food was really good. The wine and desert (delicious baklava) the waitress suggested were the cherry on the ice cream. The only thing is that the restaurant is very small and I do not like when I have the impression people on the next table are listening to my conversation, but it wasn´t exactly a problem. Very nice choice in Carmel I would go back on a next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Very good Mediterranean food, for a fair price. The overall experience is pretty cool, if you're in Carmel, you have to try this place out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dametra Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.