We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming with outstanding food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Corner of Ocean Ave and Lincoln St, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Parbold
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming with outstanding food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As others have said, the owners/managers of this little gem are amazing. The welcome and service are superb. We arrived just in time to get a seat at lunchtime. When we asked about the live music (expecting that this would only be available in the evenings) the Jordanian manager almost immediately fetched his Oud/Buzok (?) and played beautifully in accompanying a kitchen helper (Mexican) with a warm voice in a 'typical love song'. All diners stopped eating and drinking to join in the clapping during the chorus and in the enthusiastic applause at the end of the song.

Nearly forgot. The food is fantastic too!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikejilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped in for lunch - we had the chicken schwarma and falafel. Greek salad that accompanied it was amazing. Found the falafel a wee bit bland, however schwarma was tastier. Were great to offer us complimentary baclava at the end of our dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stumbled into....loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in Carmel and were really hungry. It was one of the first places we found. And what a find! Wonderful hospitality. We ordered the gyro and hummus. The gyro was amazing! We would order it again. The hummus was average but the warm pita bread was a nice complement. The atmosphere is cozy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakerfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Mediterranean Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I took my new fiancé here for a special birthday dinner, and Dametra's staff made sure that it was unforgettable.

The service was attentive, several staff members came by to congratulate us and wish her a happy birthday, and the food was excellent.

I would recommend Dametra's to anyone looking for a warm, delicious restaurant in the Carmel area. Thanks again for making it a memorable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanogrigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
301 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“yep we got what the reviews were all about :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we got a last minute reservation and thought the food yummy. The shrimp and crab ravioli very veyr nice. But what makes this place is that even just being there for about 1 hour we could tell just how hard they work and how much they want to please their guests. We read this was the place that the other carmel chefs went to on their way home.We see why

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing