We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled into....loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Corner of Ocean Ave and Lincoln St, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stumbled into....loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in Carmel and were really hungry. It was one of the first places we found. And what a find! Wonderful hospitality. We ordered the gyro and hummus. The gyro was amazing! We would order it again. The hummus was average but the warm pita bread was a nice complement. The atmosphere is cozy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,434
    300
    93
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Mediterranean Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I took my new fiancé here for a special birthday dinner, and Dametra's staff made sure that it was unforgettable.

The service was attentive, several staff members came by to congratulate us and wish her a happy birthday, and the food was excellent.

I would recommend Dametra's to anyone looking for a warm, delicious restaurant in the Carmel area. Thanks again for making it a memorable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
297 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“yep we got what the reviews were all about :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

we got a last minute reservation and thought the food yummy. The shrimp and crab ravioli very veyr nice. But what makes this place is that even just being there for about 1 hour we could tell just how hard they work and how much they want to please their guests. We read this was the place that the other carmel chefs went to on their way home.We see why

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oooh so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had chicken kabob with lemon sauce and loved. it. The dressing on the salad was delicious. I wish I had some of the Baba Ghanouj right now - YUM! And excellent baklava. I would have been happy to spend the entire day just sitting there and eating myself silly. Will definitely eat there anytime I'm in Carmel. The wait staff is very good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Ca.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I know now why it's rated #1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sometimes you wonder how a restaurant is rated so high! Simple, Food, Service and Experience! Food was outstanding! I had the Lamb Shank with the Potatoes Au Gratin and Veggies, Dametra Salad and Hummus and Pita. Wow! Excellent! Service, let's just say that everyone that worked in the restaurant came over to check on us to make sure everything was satisfactory! I mean everyone! Experience, the surprise music which got every female including my wife out of the seat dancing in the aisles was awesome! Guitars, drums, tambourines! They are incredible how they play the instruments and sing. But what I liked most was when you left you felt like family saying goodbyes! They make sure you feel that way! It's pretty awesome! My wife and I thank you!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dametra Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.