We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Friendly - A Carmel Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ocean Ave, 2nd East Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
831-622-7766
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 151 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun & Friendly - A Carmel Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A small little cafe this place is not. Small? Yes Cafe? No, this is a wonderful little restaurant with a big heart, large portions and huge helping of fun and laughter. I had no idea when my bell hop at the Cypress Inn recommended this little hole in the wall how much I would adore this place.

With a varied menu (Greek, Italian, Mediterranean) there is something for everyone here. Usually lined up out the door (and worth the wait), this place is full of fun as every meal is serenaded by staff members playing the drums, guitar and a dishwasher with the most beautiful singing voice! Late at night you can expect to walk by and hear the cheers, see the dancing and hear the tinkles of laughter and glasses. It's definitely big on atmosphere, large helpings of traditional favourites like hummus, gyros, and pastas. I ate here several times for the great food and the performances by the staff. I was never disappointed.

I was always offered a free dessert with my tea. The tea is spectacular and service is impeccable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    194
    67
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We go to Carmel every year and always come back to Dametra Cafe. The Greek food is excellent. They have a small but nice wine list. The best part of this place is the very friendly staff. They are always
grateful to have you as a guest. It's best if you have reservations but we usually get right in when we don't. Yes, as others have said, this is a small restaurant but for us that just adds to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The reviews are correct. This tiny restaurant is great. It looked full, but the host pulled two tables apart and set us up. The staff in this place was very friendly, kind and accommodating and the food was just delicious. I had the (best!) gyros, my daughter had the chicken schwarma sandwich, we split the (warm) dolmas and crusty perfect bread and we took Turkish coffee and baklava to have in the car. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food - fun cafe ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The food was pretty good and I would return. For Carmel the prices are reasonable. A few points, the restaurant is small and the bathroom is really close to the kitchen. But something really fun was the staff came out and played the guitar and sang. Over all my family really enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My friend got lamb shank here and it was really good!!! Looks like they sucked out the marrow and put it on the lamb...sooo delicious. I got chicken schwarma, which came with a yummy Greek salad with feta and pesto-tasting dressing. I thought the lamb shank was better than the chicken schwarma, but the lamb shank is also more expensive. Prior to the meal, they provided some very tasty and warm fresh bread with a delicious mix of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Lastly, they gave us some free baklava for dessert, not sure if they give everyone free dessert or if it was just because we were from out of town.

This place is pretty small so you might want to call ahead or you might have to wait a bit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dametra Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;