We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tor House

Tor House
26304 Ocean View Avenue, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 1813
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 attractions in Carmel
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The historic home of the poet Robinson Jeffers is open to the public for group tours.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Magical Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the home of California poet Robinson Jeffers. No where else have I so strongly felt the atmosphere of Carmel Past. This can only be seen on scheduled tours so be sure to make reservations. The docents are knowledgeable. Bring sweaters for your tour on this "tor" where the winds blow off the ocean. Allow about 3 hours for your tour. I have taken this many times and each time I learn something new.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My sister and I booked our tour of the Tor house and were very excited about it. We were not disappointed. Our docent was amazing. I wish I had written my review sooner when I remembered his name. He was an English teacher before he retired and was very passionate about Robinson Jeffers. He was very informative and managed to keep it entertaining at the same time. I highly recommend taking this tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful ocean view with amazing architectural interest and historical background as well. We were fortunate to find a poetry reading event at Tor House. Cute museum, kind docents and very interesting place. Call ahead to check hours open. Truly a GEM in Carmel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting place run by volunteers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Interesting inside in a beautiful setting and well run by hardworking volunteers. A lovely and fulfilling way to spend a couple of hours and delight your senses.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“ENJOYABLE,AND INTERESTING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is an interesting Carmel home to visit, it was a famous carmel author"s home, It is a nice way to see what the old homes of Carmel look like.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tor House also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Tor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tor House to your Saves list