We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission

San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission
3080 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
831-624-1271
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from...
Ranked #7 of 96 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1771, this Spanish mission is one of the most beautiful in the state and worth a visit for its serene aura. The mission includes a working church, gardens and interior exhibits.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spiritual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a must this second time in Carmel. My teens and I walked from 4th and San Carlos St. Partial sidewalks 3/4 of the way, but pretty safe. Enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk considering the eating out we've been doing. Very low admission cost. The grounds are absolutely stunning. It's like I fell back into time. The Catholic missionary history lesson was educational. Quiet, Respectful, Spiritual environment. Each of us lit a candle and said a prayer. If you don't plan to return to Carmel, make sure you spend some time here esp. if God is an important part of your life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    88
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As all the missions in California, they re very peaceful and quiet. This one has a nice church you can visit. There even was a wedding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

With three teenagers in tow on our trip to California, I had to talk them into visiting the Carmel Mission. But once they spotted the beautiful courtyard with fountains, gardens, and sculptures, and learned about the history of the place and saw the Spanish architecture and exhibits, they were glad we stopped! Everyone in our family enjoyed seeing the mission, and even learned a few things at the same time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A beautiful holy site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is a wonder to see that this Mission is so well preserved given its history. Anyone who is interested in the California Missions will want to visit this one since it is here that the founder of the Missions, Blessed Junipero Serra is burried.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have been to Carmel several times, but never visited the Mission. We walked from downtown which is about a 20 minutes walk. The road has no sidewalks, but we enjoyed looking at the houses and gardens. The Mission itself is very interesting, and took us about an hour to see it all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.