We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission

San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission
3080 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
831-624-1271
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Monterey Independent Bike Tour
Ranked #9 of 25 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Missions, Cultural
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1771, this Spanish mission is one of the most beautiful in the state and worth a visit for its serene aura. The mission includes a working church, gardens and interior exhibits.
california
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This mission is really worth seeing. It is lovely and has a lovely garden too. It's like stepping into the past. The church is still active so schedule your visit so you're not there during a service. Parking is limited but not a problem during the week.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    51
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A great example of California mission history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 2 hours in and out of the grounds of the Mission. The interior had the lights off when we were there but the docent more than made up for the lack of lighting. She was like a walking library and really enlightened us about the church's history and anything else we saw about which we had questions. The interior courtyard was very beautiful and had a full figure statue of Father Serra surrounded by flowers in the flower garden. The docent added to our knowledge of Fr. Serra and the mission's founding and the role Fr. Serra played in establishing other missions along the Pacific Coast.

Part of the building was surrounded by scaffolding when we were there...earthquake proofing we were told. There was an old ~1775 confessional that caught my eye as one of the exhibits inside the museum.

Put this on your list of places to visit. Although it has rest room facilities, we didn't find much to eat. Still, very worth the trip and not far from downtown Carmel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“300 years and still existing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Read about the history of this place. Pity the original Indians that had to put up with the Spanish invaders, and pity the Spanish imperialists,both military and religious. Had to be a rough experience for all of them. Really glad the building still stands.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop if you're interested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been to several missions in California and found this one quite pretty but disappointing if you want to really learn about the history of the area, the indigenous people who were forced to labor here, and what mission life was really like. I ought to say that I am not Catholic so don't appreciate that aspect of it but I am a Californian interested in the history of my state. I learned a lot more about missions and their impact on the local populations at Mission San Jose and highly recommend that to anyone who is really interested in that aspect of mission history. That said, this mission is very pretty, the grounds are well maintained, and the gift shop is impressive. Worth a quick stop if you're interested.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tranquility!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Walked up to mission which isn't far but as Carmel lacks footpaths it was quite arduous. Well worth the trip.. lovely buildings and gardens and rich history. Well maintained and friendly gift shop staff. Would recommend visitors pop in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.