We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine, decent deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Julien

Chateau Julien
8940 Carmel Valley Road, Carmel, CA 93923
+1 831-624-2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 96 things to do in Carmel
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chateau Julien Wine Estate is located on 16 acres in Carmel Valley, California. The winery boasts breathtaking vistas of the lush green valley surrounded by the majestic Carmel Valley Mountains. The vineyard is highlighted throughout the seasons - from the breaking buds of spring to summer's lush leaf canopy and the abundant grape cluster display of fall. As the only winery on the Monterey Peninsula open to the public for tours, we invite you for a full wine estate experience!
iselin, NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good wine, decent deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did the wine tasting, $10 for 5 wines. They poor lightly but was worth the $10 each because we planned on buying a bottle, which they apply towards a purchase.

Worth going to, very nice grounds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Chateau Julien is set within beautiful surroundings. The gardens are lovely and the tasting room is a very grand building in the style of a French chateau. The wines were similar to Italian wines rather than French wines so it felt a little confused. The server was friendly enough but didn't seem that knowledgeable, however we didn't visit quite late in the day so perhaps she had just had a long day! The wines were nice but nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
2,696 reviews
1,680 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,615 helpful votes
“Nice Winery - Nice Staff - Great for wine tasting or for an event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were there for their Vintage Affair (April 2013) and had a fabulous time.

They had reserve wines and other wines for tasting - they had a nice lunch. There was great guacamole, salsa and chips. There was wonderful barbecued cheese quesadilla. and their berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries) were some of the best we have ever had. They also had flan! Great event....they have a variety of events throughout the year.

This would also be a fun winery to stop at just for wine tasting (i.e. non event days). Their grounds are beautiful and would be perfect setting for a wedding, etc.

Staff is very nice and wonderful - low key, but very helpful (people you enjoy talking with and feel ok asking questions of).

And the price for this event was so reasonable - only $15.00.

All in all a really nice winery in the Carmel Valley area - just 5.2 miles away from highway 1.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beyond beautiful place. A must see! Great wine too! Very relaxing and tranquil. Perfect place to see the beauty of California and enjoy some of the best wines from the soils of California.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“great tour-great wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went for their scheduled 12:30 wine tour (set tour times are 10:30 & 2:30 Mon- Fri. and 12:30 & 2:30 Sat-Sun) I think it is a mixed bag when it comes to tour guides, ours was great, very down to earth and fun, however there are some employees that seemed to be very up-tight, almost snooty, so your experience could be much different than mine (just a heads-up)
The cost for the tour and wine tasting is around 6 or 7 dollars but no effort was made to collect any money, as is stated in their ads: your tour is free with a $25 purchase, and it appeared that most (if not all) on the tour made a purchase of one sort or another. As you walk the grounds on your tour you are given different wines to sample, about 7 in total and all very good, mostly their higher end "reserve" wines. Our guide was very generous with the pours, so even if we did have to pay for this tour it would have been well worth the cost!! Educational, fun, beautiful, and delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Julien also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Chateau Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Julien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.