We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Accessible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Route 1, Box 62, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 102 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Absolutely beautiful with well marked trails. The main trails are pretty flat and easy to navigate. Lots of wildlife including barking seals. Worth the $10 entrance fee.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvstotravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are in the Carmel area, this is a great place to take a short hike and admire the amazing views of the Pacific. If you are lucky, the seals will be close enough for you to get a good look at them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and take a short hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The sights here are on par with anything else on the CA coast. I've been all the way up and down it, and though some places might be more famous (e.g. the 17 mile drive just a bit to the north) Point Lobos can't be beat for its sheer wild beauty. There's lots of wildlife in the area, plenty of hiking opportunities with well-worn trails and lookouts, and paved roads for easy access. Some of the trails are a bit steep and rocky, but others are easily accessible to anyone on foot. You can see a good portion of the area in an hour, but 2-3 would be better if you want to cover it. It's also apparently a great spot for scuba diving if you're into that, and they have some ramps where you can get in the water (saw some guys doing that this last visit).

It can get a bit chilly in winter or late afternoon, so dress warmly. The trails and points of interest are well documented and signs tell you how long and how strenuous the hikes are. Rangers and docents are on hand to answer questions.

Note: the signs said parking lot full, but there was plenty of space inside. I think they just don't bother to change them, because it probably usually IS full. Drive up and find out. On the flipside, if you don't mind walking a bit you can park on the side of the freeway and just walk in, which will save you $10 (there's no fee for walk-ins). However, this can add quite a bit to the hike. If you don't have much time or don't want to walk far, try to drive in.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yu-Jin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
328 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views from each stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You do need to pay $10 to get in the door, unless you park on US1 and walk into the park. We enjoyed a lovely sunset evening taking pictures and seeing pods of dolphins swimming. If you are hiker, there is much more to see but we were into photography and sunsets for this trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't Pass This Place Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was on my way back to SFO after spending four days backpacking along the Big Sur coast. I'm a photographer and figured what could I possibly see at Point Lobos that I didn't see along Big Sur. I almost drove by, but figured for $10 I'd check it out. This place was amazing and I'm so glad I stopped. I pulled in at 1pm and left at 3pm and really felt like I needed another 2 or 3 hours to see the whole place. This was on a weekday and I had no problem parking, no wait at all. Plenty of seals, sea otters, even a blue whale. For photographers this place is a must and you could easily spend an entire day here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Boston0212202122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing