We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing Vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Route 1, Box 62, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Whale watching, Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a truly amazing State Park. I've never been to a state park before with such amazing vistas and views of the local wildlife. There are places where you can see tons of birds and seals off in the distance. The rugged coastline makes this an amazing place to visit for fans of photography. And you can meet some interesting people on the trails.

This place is definitely worth a visit if you're anywhere near the Monterey peninsula.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,016
    190
    20
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The first time I visited Point Lobos was in 1992 and I've revisited 4 or 5 times since. It is without a doubt one of the most beautiful and magical coastal areas I've ever been to. There are places within this reserve that make you feel like you're in a Lord of the Rings movie. The sea life to be seen is extraordinary and the landscape rugged and mystical. I love this place. The kelp beds, the otters, seals, walruses and birds. The Cyprus trees. The It is indeed one of the most breathtaking spots along the entire North American coast. So alive and exhilarating. A must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place for birders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite places! The docent at the whaler's museum took the time to answer all my questions about the biology of abalones and we discussed the history of the early whalers from the Azores. She was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed a picnic as we watched divers and sea otters in the cove. (Bring your own food, because there is none nearby.) A short hike to Bird Island included walking through the pines, looking down at an inlet with Egrets, and then viewing several islands. One was covered with pelicans, which had just arrived. Bring a jacket to ward off the fog and sea breezes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A "must see" attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Based on previous reviews, although we were only in the Monterey/Carmel area for three short days, this was on our bucket list. We went to Cannery Row, the Monterey Aquarium, Seventeen Mile Drive, Pebble Beach golf course and lodge, Carmel Beach, and Point Lobos State Park. The Park is rated #1 for a reason! The most spectacular ocean views, cypress trees, sea otter, sea lions, etc. while hiking the various trails. We had perfect weather, although later in the afternoon, the breezes made it necessary to wear a light jacket. Our visit was in September, so crowds were not an issue. The only problem I encountered was taking too many pictures! Do NOT miss this attraction if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Harbor Seals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

II was there in July and there were a lot of harbor seals to watch. They sure seem to have a great life! Lounging on the rocks and swimming playfully. The headlands here are breathtakingly beautiful. There might be fog and a breeze- bring a windbreaker.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lobos State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.