We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Route 1, Box 62, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Activities in Carmel
Type: Beaches, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoor Activities, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Whale watching, Scuba diving, Walking, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The first time I visited Point Lobos was in 1992 and I've revisited 4 or 5 times since. It is without a doubt one of the most beautiful and magical coastal areas I've ever been to. There are places within this reserve that make you feel like you're in a Lord of the Rings movie. The sea life to be seen is extraordinary and the landscape rugged and mystical. I love this place. The kelp beds, the otters, seals, walruses and birds. The Cyprus trees. The It is indeed one of the most breathtaking spots along the entire North American coast. So alive and exhilarating. A must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,618
    138
    14
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place for birders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite places! The docent at the whaler's museum took the time to answer all my questions about the biology of abalones and we discussed the history of the early whalers from the Azores. She was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed a picnic as we watched divers and sea otters in the cove. (Bring your own food, because there is none nearby.) A short hike to Bird Island included walking through the pines, looking down at an inlet with Egrets, and then viewing several islands. One was covered with pelicans, which had just arrived. Bring a jacket to ward off the fog and sea breezes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A "must see" attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Based on previous reviews, although we were only in the Monterey/Carmel area for three short days, this was on our bucket list. We went to Cannery Row, the Monterey Aquarium, Seventeen Mile Drive, Pebble Beach golf course and lodge, Carmel Beach, and Point Lobos State Park. The Park is rated #1 for a reason! The most spectacular ocean views, cypress trees, sea otter, sea lions, etc. while hiking the various trails. We had perfect weather, although later in the afternoon, the breezes made it necessary to wear a light jacket. Our visit was in September, so crowds were not an issue. The only problem I encountered was taking too many pictures! Do NOT miss this attraction if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Harbor Seals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

II was there in July and there were a lot of harbor seals to watch. They sure seem to have a great life! Lounging on the rocks and swimming playfully. The headlands here are breathtakingly beautiful. There might be fog and a breeze- bring a windbreaker.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If You Can Only Visit One Place on the Pacific Coast, Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We set out early in the morning to travel the Pacific Coast Highway from Monterey to San Simeon, so we were the first people into the parking lot at Point Lobos. TIP: Wear a warm jacket, preferably a windbreaker! It was about 50 degrees with 35 MPH winds and not a cloud in the sky. We went straight to the parking area at Sea Lion Point, took several of the short trails there and then took the North Shore Trail around to Walrus Cove. We are in our 70's and it was a long hilly walk, but where it was steep there were steps, so it was not particularly difficult. We were able to see the elephant seals on the rocks, whales spouting, and river otters in the kelp beds. If you don't have binoculars to spot the otters, the docent at the Whalers' Cabin Museum (at Whalers' Cove) has a good telescope that he'll set up for you. If you miss this park, you are definitely missing the most beautiful coastal scenery of the whole PCH. BTW - there is a wheelchair accessible trail from the Sea Lion Point parking area

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lobos State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.