We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Can Only Visit One Place on the Pacific Coast, Go Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Route 1, Box 62, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Whale watching, Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
Princeton NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If You Can Only Visit One Place on the Pacific Coast, Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We set out early in the morning to travel the Pacific Coast Highway from Monterey to San Simeon, so we were the first people into the parking lot at Point Lobos. TIP: Wear a warm jacket, preferably a windbreaker! It was about 50 degrees with 35 MPH winds and not a cloud in the sky. We went straight to the parking area at Sea Lion Point, took several of the short trails there and then took the North Shore Trail around to Walrus Cove. We are in our 70's and it was a long hilly walk, but where it was steep there were steps, so it was not particularly difficult. We were able to see the elephant seals on the rocks, whales spouting, and river otters in the kelp beds. If you don't have binoculars to spot the otters, the docent at the Whalers' Cabin Museum (at Whalers' Cove) has a good telescope that he'll set up for you. If you miss this park, you are definitely missing the most beautiful coastal scenery of the whole PCH. BTW - there is a wheelchair accessible trail from the Sea Lion Point parking area

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,797
    157
    15
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The hiking is beyond belief. Spectacular views. They could use more parking but obviously they did not want to disrupt the landscape so it is understandable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Super way to explore all sorts of environments of the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The trails are well marked and not so long that our kids did much complaining. You can explore both the seaside as well as the hill environments with spectacular views and sites. On the one side of the park, you can watch for sea lions as well as sea otters and - if you're in luck, even see whales in the bay.
On the other side of the park you can wade into shallow tidal pools teeming with different types of mollusk, algae, etc.
In between, you get to get face to face with beautifully twisted pine trees, some apparently up to 300 years old. And there is a small, original whaler's hut that gives you some insight into the Abalone trade (and more).

Excellent for everyone that can hike up sometimes steep or root-riddled paths.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you only do one decent walk.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

...near Carmel, make sure it is here. Totally stunning scenery and wildlife. We arrived just after breakfast and spent a wonderful half day exploring the fascinating trails. This is the best value 10 dollars you can spend. Just sorry we haven't visited before - we certainly hope to come back and enjoy the fantastic atmosphere and environment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Saw orcas and heard sea lions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Take the afternoon to walk around the many pathways along the coast in Point Lobos State Reserve. I could have spent hours here just meandering all the trails and taking photos. Photographers will find this area particularly appealing as there are so many different landscapes area to see -- they are all just so dramatically different. It's $10 to enter the park in a car, but I also saw people entering by foot who didn't seem to have to pay.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lobos State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.