We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Route 1, Box 62, Carmel, CA 93923
831 624 4909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Whale watching, Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A lost paradise. Crashing waves and the Big Sur type coast line except you can walk and hike to your heart's content. Seals at one point. Frequent whale sightings at others (although we didn't see any). Lots of birds. Beautiful plants and stunning trees with that atmospheric cobwebby hangings (like cottonwool cobwebbs for halloweed).

We also chanced upon a very friendly volunteer who had his telescope set up so we could view otters and seals much better.

Highly recommend a trip to Point Lobos.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,811
    162
    15
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go! Put this on your list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Even if you're not all that outdoorsy...this is a must go place. The views are AMAZING. We actually went back twice (even paying the $10 entry fee) to get more pictures of the waves crashing. We got to also see seals and otters. We mainly stuck to the easy paths. We also packed a lunch and ate at one of the many picnic tables they have.

This is a great place; you'll get amazing pictures which I think highlight best what this area is all about.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This was my favorite outdoor sight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the place for a WOW view everywhere you look! Get out of the car and start walking. Crashing waves, blue water, sea lions, sea otter, bent cypress trees, sea breezes, rocky shoreline......SO BEAUTIFUL!! I would go back to the Monterey area just for this park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing natural beauty/superb wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Point Lobos is one of the most beautiful state parks I've visited. The wildlife watching is superb and the trails are easily accessible for most visitors.

Caution to parents with young children that while the trails are not especially difficult to hike, they are Not child proof. The risk of a serious fall is great so I would avoid this park with children under 10 years old.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great place to visit and wander about watching the wildlife and great views on the coast.

We visited here twice during our two week stay as there's so much to see. Useful guides, if you want or need advice. Stunning views, easy walking trails and two great beaches on the south side. Even some rock pools to investigate.

Highly recommended, best $10 we spent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lobos State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.