We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine diving - mostly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery Beach

Monastery Beach
Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 97 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fine diving - mostly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice beach for a picnic - close to the road for easy access & small enough to keep track of everyone. Snorkeling & diving is fine, as long as the swells are moderate - when it gets big, the waves drop on the beach with a WHUMP!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    12
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Caution”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes, it's a lovely beach, and has nice views, but we locals call is "Mortuary Beach" because of the many deaths there over the years.

I disagree with Tree4Life's review, it's treacherous. It has riptides that can quickly take both casual swimmers and experienced divers directly to the bottom of the Monterey Marine Canyon (5,000' below sea level) in minutes and even the strongest swimmers don't survive.

The warning sign State Parks put up is better than the one before, but it really should say "If you go in the water YOU will die".

Stay out of the water and enjoy the beach. If you're looking for excellent dive experiences, continue south to Point Lobos or Big Sur.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good dive site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great dive site, especially for the experienced. The waves are a little difficult to get through with a steep drop out but the visibility has been consistently better than other places on the peninsula.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Look but do not Immerse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Monastery Beach is definitely worth a pit stop, full stop. It takes a while to drink in all the sensory experiences, which are mostly great. Yes the sand is pretty uncomfortable. Bring some water to wash your feet off with. Yet the scenery, the waves, the play of the water makes this a nice place to pause at.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,468 reviews
1,012 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,153 helpful votes
“Hype or Fact?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped briefly at this beach because we heard so much about it and it's bad reputation. Our thoughts were: it is not a beach that is inviting is that there are better more sandy beaches along the coast, (2) the water is so cold you really won't swim there, (3) there is an undertow so small children need to be under careful watch. Why go there when there are so many other nice and safer places? It is beautiful and away from people. Just had to see it for myself and I would choose
other places to spend my day...so the legend continues.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monastery Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastery Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.