We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hype or Fact?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery Beach

Monastery Beach
Carmel, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 Attractions in Carmel
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,147 reviews 1,147 reviews
779 attraction reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
914 helpful votes 914 helpful votes
“Hype or Fact?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped briefly at this beach because we heard so much about it and it's bad reputation. Our thoughts were: it is not a beach that is inviting is that there are better more sandy beaches along the coast, (2) the water is so cold you really won't swim there, (3) there is an undertow so small children need to be under careful watch. Why go there when there are so many other nice and safer places? It is beautiful and away from people. Just had to see it for myself and I would choose
other places to spend my day...so the legend continues.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds, Great Views, Poor Sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The sand here is a courser rocky sand, like the bottom of a fish tank. Good news is it doesn't blow around quite so bad in the strong winds. Not a good swimming beach, but nice for a break out of the car, and enjoy the views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Treacherous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great beach right on Highway 1. You can park right by it, but watch out, it is very steep with a drop off. Read the warning signs as the beach is also treacherous.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Locals call this Mortuary Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a wonderful beach if you want to enjoy a picnic, a sunset, or if you are a VERY EXPERIENCED cold water SCUBA enthusiast. Part of Carmel River State Beach, it is known as Monastery Beach because of it's location across form the Carmelite Monastery. The beach is beautiful but extremely dangerous. We live very near this beach and can attest to the number of drowning deaths and serious accidents that occur regularly. Please do not visit with small children who are apt to want to run to the water's edge to play. Same warning for dogs. Stay on the inland side of the crest of sand. If you're visiting the area with kids, a better location for playing in the bay is at Lovers Point in Pacific Grove.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dangerous and Scary !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Be careful if you plan to visit this beach. I almost got drowned here. My husband(who also almost got drowned) and a friend of ours saved us. The waves were gigantic which pulled me off and I fell down near the shore calling for help. Many people have drowned here and it is well known as 'Mortuary Beach' which I got to know later from locals after this incident. Stay safe if you plan to visit this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Monastery Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastery Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.