We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat at this Place, you won't be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlueFire Grill

BlueFire Grill
2100 Costa Del Mar Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92009
(760) 929-6306
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BlueFire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 286 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: El Camino Real at La Costa Avenue
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat at this Place, you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food was decadent. Lamb was just about the best I have ever had. The service was attentive and patient but very thorough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited while staying at resort. Food was very good and nice atmosphere.husband had jambalaya type fish dish, I had skirt steak all delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“BlueFire for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Breakfast and lunch were buffet for our group. Every meal was excellent. Fresh food, cooked very well and good selection. Service was very good also.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice New Year's Eve dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a nice New Year's Eve dinner here from the set 4 course menu. While the main entrees were very good (I had the duck and husband had steak), the starters were actually the best part. There was only one dessert option which looked beautiful, but only tasted average. Despite a set menu, the food tasted like it was individually prepared fresh, rather than mass produced. Overall, I felt it was pricey for what you get.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Bluefire with our two young boys on our last night at La Costa. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and accommodating, and the ambiance inside the restaurant was cozy. Unfortunately, it was cool and the patio was not open for dining. My kids were excited to sit by the fire, which would have given the restaurant a few bonus points. I had the pasta ragu that someone mentioned was bland, but I found it to be quite tasty and portioned perfectly. My husband had the swordfish, and the kids were happy with their usual mac and cheese. We were pleased to meet the chef when he came out to ask how we liked our meals. All in all, it was what I expected, and a good option for a nice dinner at La Costa. I just wish that patio would have been open!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlueFire Grill also viewed

 

Been to BlueFire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueFire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.