We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Fire Grill

Blue Fire Grill
2100 Costa Del Mar Rd, Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, Carlsbad, CA 92009
17609296306
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Fire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 266 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: El Camino Real at La Costa Avenue
Description: Taste the difference fresh ingredients make at the Blue Fire Grill. Our executive chef’s focus on ingredients harvested from the surrounding area means that every bite bursts with the cleanest flavors; diners literally taste the beauty of Carlsbad, California, and the surrounding areas. As the seasons change, so do the menus, which only entice guests to come back again and again to sample the in-season ingredients. Fresh coastal seafood and fine meats are perfectly paired with our wine list, or you can sample artisanal cocktails prepared in the lounge area.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited while staying at resort. Food was very good and nice atmosphere.husband had jambalaya type fish dish, I had skirt steak all delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubawoman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BlueFire for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Breakfast and lunch were buffet for our group. Every meal was excellent. Fresh food, cooked very well and good selection. Service was very good also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice New Year's Eve dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a nice New Year's Eve dinner here from the set 4 course menu. While the main entrees were very good (I had the duck and husband had steak), the starters were actually the best part. There was only one dessert option which looked beautiful, but only tasted average. Despite a set menu, the food tasted like it was individually prepared fresh, rather than mass produced. Overall, I felt it was pricey for what you get.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amc347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Bluefire with our two young boys on our last night at La Costa. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and accommodating, and the ambiance inside the restaurant was cozy. Unfortunately, it was cool and the patio was not open for dining. My kids were excited to sit by the fire, which would have given the restaurant a few bonus points. I had the pasta ragu that someone mentioned was bland, but I found it to be quite tasty and portioned perfectly. My husband had the swordfish, and the kids were happy with their usual mac and cheese. We were pleased to meet the chef when he came out to ask how we liked our meals. All in all, it was what I expected, and a good option for a nice dinner at La Costa. I just wish that patio would have been open!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missamiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The waiter recommended pasta ragu and it was bland. The atmosphere is nice though--we ate outside overlooking the lovely courtyard with a fountain. A good choice if you have to eat on site. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dann159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing