We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueFire Grill

BlueFire Grill
2100 Costa Del Mar Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92009
(760) 929-6306
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 271 restaurants in Carlsbad
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: El Camino Real at La Costa Avenue
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Bluefire with our two young boys on our last night at La Costa. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and accommodating, and the ambiance inside the restaurant was cozy. Unfortunately, it was cool and the patio was not open for dining. My kids were excited to sit by the fire, which would have given the restaurant a few bonus points. I had the pasta ragu that someone mentioned was bland, but I found it to be quite tasty and portioned perfectly. My husband had the swordfish, and the kids were happy with their usual mac and cheese. We were pleased to meet the chef when he came out to ask how we liked our meals. All in all, it was what I expected, and a good option for a nice dinner at La Costa. I just wish that patio would have been open!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    28
    30
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pricey, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The waiter recommended pasta ragu and it was bland. The atmosphere is nice though--we ate outside overlooking the lovely courtyard with a fountain. A good choice if you have to eat on site. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Some pluses and some minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were a large group and split up into two seatings. , From our conversations post dining the experiences couldn't have been different, I was in the second group. We had a wonderful wait staff, her suggestions were spot on, and the food well prepared. Most of us had a local salmon which was delivered as requested, in my case rare, the salad that I shared was split by the kitchen, a nice touch, a variety of wines by the glass offered, desserts are yummy, we shared three for seven of us, which was plenty. No complaints,

The earlier group didn't have the same experience at all ... The waitstaff was inattentive, by the time the waitperson returned to the table the kitchen was out of the specials, the food was returned to the kitchen and while they sat down 30minutes earlier than we did they finished at the same time??? Clearly the experiences were very differenet when we were dining less than 50feet apart from one another, so I guess it's the luck of the draw. At these prices it shouldn't have to be!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequate not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Given its rating by other reviewers, we were expecting a lot more from this restaurant. The service was pleasant but our server was unfamiliar with the details of each dish. The food was good and not at all imaginative. We dined outside which was quite nice and never felt rushed during dinner. It was an nice meal, but can't see us going back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Never felt that I need to go off property to have dinner. Highly recommend the seared fish or the speghetti dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlueFire Grill also viewed

 

Been to BlueFire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueFire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.