We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay if Going to LegoLand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay if Going to LegoLand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Spent two nights here with family (incl two sons 10 and 7). With its private entrance to Legoland, this is the place to stay if going there. The hotel is spread out like a nice resort property and has a spectacular, large pool that was the perfect temperature. The rooms were spacious, clean, and everything in good working order. We did not use the restaurant, but did partake of the club level lounge in the evenings and mornings. Good stuff both parts of the days.

The staff and service are incredible - friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    244
    92
    53
    34
See reviews for
478
127
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

For those of you planning to visit here as a couple without kids, this is not an appropriate choice. For families looking for close proximity to Legoland this hotel offers convenience, efficiency and no charm whatsoever. This is a fairly basic sheraton set in a souless property where you feel like you are surrounded by car parks. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable but uninspired and the toiletries are cheap. Staff are friendly but service for dinner was totally lacking in personality and the food was just ok.
It's the sort of hotel where there is simply nothing to get too excited about - neither terrible or good, just efficient at providing convenience to its surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is new, so there are very few negatives about this hotel. The lobby is nice, and the rooms are big. Everything was clean. I stayed with my husband, and 2 kids. It is excellent since it is right next to legoland, but there are some negatives to mention. First of all, the beds are not the usuall heavenly beds that we have enjoyed at other starwood hotels, the were very squeaky ( Not sure why they have used such cheap beds in a new hotel). The other negative is that this hotel is too far from all of the other good stuff that San Digeo has to offer, since carlsbad is 30 mintues away from downtown San Diego.
And lastly we had booked our room at the Club level, and you are suppose to get free breakfast with that, but they serve that breakfast between 6:30 to 9:30 am. Since we were on vacation, we did not care to get up so early in the morning, so we missed our free breakfast for 3 days that we stayed there. So paying for the club level was a waste.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My entire family was impressed not only with the beautiful facility and setting but the wonderful staff who were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We have definetely recommended this facility to others and are looking forward to staying again in the future

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa was a wonderful place to stay for our family. The resort is beautiful, new and well maintained. My kids loved the pool and I enjoyed the fitness center. The Sheraton is located next to Lego Land and has a private entrance. This made going in/out of the part very convenient. We walked down when the park opened and left to enjoy the pool when the park was too crowded.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The unexplored
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is a fair hotel. Not alot of amenities. Gym was decent. Only one restaurant. Food was average at best. Very young kids at this hotel. Lots of toddlers and infants. The beds and pillows were not very comfortable. Sheets were not very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just to let everyone know that our family had just a wonderful time staying at the Sheraton Carisbad Resort and Spa. The experience for our Granddaughter was another spotlight in her life. From the flight to San Deigo - bus ride to the train station and taking the train. We called and were picked up at the train station and used the hotels shuttle to many locations - to the beach, out to eat, to LegoLand and just anywhere we wanted to go. Your staff and especially the boys who took us everywhere were wonderful. Many thanks to your guys for the fun time. We will return. Thank You. Ronald Tomlinson

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Los Angeles and San Diego, we're adjacent to Legoland CA and provide a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.