We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Sheraton.com
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Anaheim, California
1 review
“Beautiful Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a grand and beautiful resort and everything about it is nice but pretty pricey. However my complaints are as follows:

- No shallower end for toddlers who cannot swim
- HUGE spot reserved for valet parking even though it was empty the time we were there so we ended up parking far
- We arrived around 3pm and the finished room service food was out in the hallways and it looked like it had been there for a while. There were some flies buzzing around.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Carlsbad as your place to stay, we understand that you have many choices when traveling. It is through our guest feedback we are able to improve upon the hotel. I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage team, and have adjusted the time the Room service teams are walking the hallways to ensure that trays are not left in the hallways.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    219
    87
    51
    29
See reviews for
444
116
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in the hotel using our priceline reservation and were automatically upgraded to an oceanview room. It was early October, so the hotel was not very busy however, it was nice to receive the upgrade. The restaurant 20/20 is very good and worthwhile to check out even if you aren't staying. The staff was very friendly and I can't wait to come back to the resort and the Carlsbad area.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Great 4 star hotel option in Carlsbad”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 We checked in the hotel using our priceline reservation and were automatically upgraded to an oceanview room. It was early October, so the hotel was not very busy however, it was nice to receive the upgrade. The restaurant 20/20 is very good and worthwhile to check out even if you aren't staying. The staff was very friendly and I can't wait to come back to the resort and the Carlsbad area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We bought a package, to see the Hilton Grand Pacific villas , and suffer through a timeshare presentation. That part was fine, but the Hilton was booked, so they put us at the Sheraton. The rooms were pretty big, and the property was big too. I liked that there were balconies or patios for every room, and the pool is nice. Biggest plus is that the pool never closes, we really liked that. But here's the thing. There were never more than one or two people working in the small, unimpressive lobby. They seemed to be understaffed, and the service was affected. The walls were too thin, I unfortunately found out the last night we stayed, as the people above me sounded like they were herding elephants back and forth, and back and forth... All night long. I finally called the front desk at 4am and they said they sent Security, it stopped for about an hour and then they woke me up again. The man at the desk comped our parking, but I got about two hours sleep. I didn't think the breakfast buffet was even close to what it should have been, and why does housekeeping bang on the door at 8am and then go "oh sorry?" Happens a lot actually. Overall this hotel is underwhelming and I would stay there again but only in a pinch .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. We have reviewed your comments with the leadership team and will use this as coaching tool to better serve our guest. It is though feedback such as yours we can identify areas of improvement.
Thanks You,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Only stayed two nights but can't say enough to recommend this hotel. From the minute we arrived the service was 5 star.
Friendly and helpful staff, the swimming pool and surrounding area was fabulous, outside pool bar was great. Had outside movies on the big screen by the pool.
The rooms were amazing, very large and clean, fab bathroom everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Starbucks coffee in your room, but the most fabulous thing was the bed, I have never slept in such a comfortable bed with crisp clean white bed linen.
The restaurant was first class service , first class food and a fabulous view of the sunset.
Free shuttle bus to the outlets and other restaurants.
Also it's own private back entrance to Legoland so no queues and only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for the 5 STAR Review! We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort. What better way to end a fabulous day then to fall into our comfortable beds. The beds are custom made for the Sheraton and can be purchased on line. We hope to have you and the family back again.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Told for hours and hours our room was 'almost' ready and being cleaned while many folks checked in all around us. I am sure we could have done many other things for the 5 hours our room was 'being cleaned' then sit and wait. The truth would have been a better idea. More dishonestly in that There was no ocean view in an" ocean view" room. Walls are paper thin and there are as many barking dogs as kids. No pool towels, bar, or service at lower pools.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with the hotel. I am truly sorry that we gave you miss information upon check in. There is never an excuse when we fail to meet your needs as our guest. I have placed notes in your file should we have another opportunity to have you and your husband back again.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 7 lovely days at the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa. The weather was unusually warm for the beginning of September. My husbands West Point Class of 1970 had it's yearly reunion at the hotel. The grounds were lovely and the food was excellent. They have a lovely pool with bar service and for those with children or grandchildren, LEGOLAND was just a short walk! The rooms were spacious and well apportioned. The bar in the hotel was well equipped! All the personnel were very friendly and polite. They always asked if you needed anything. We used the front desk and others to find out how to get to places. The had a shuttle bus that would take you anywhere within a 5 mile area.

We had a very pleasant stay and would return to this hotel again!

Room Tip: All the rooms I visited were lovely. We were n the first floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We were so glad to be the host hotel for the West Point Reunion. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Used the Convention/Banquet facilities for weekend meetings. Rooms are clean and spacious. In fact a variety of sizes available for small to large events. Banquet personnel are always helpful. Banquet manager on premises even on the weekends. I am quite sure we'll use this facility again when in San Diego.

Room Tip: Did not use the sleep room here. Meeting only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel
Sheraton Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton
Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Los Angeles and San Diego, we're adjacent to Legoland CA and provide a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.