We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The rooms were fairly large and comfortable. The pool area was also very nice. Access to Legoland was great! I suppose the trade off for being close to Legoland is that you are farther away from restaurants, shopping, etc. we had to get into the car often.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa for your accommodations while in Carlsbad. We are happy to see that the family enjoyed their time at the hotel and the convenient access to LEGOLAND. Next time you hare here our Hotel Shuttle can drive you into town. We offer complementary Shuttle Service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to take care of you again.

Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    245
    92
    53
    34
See reviews for
485
128
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have stayed here twice now two years apart (pilgrimages to Legoland for our boys). Hotel is very convenient for the park because of the private back entry that gets you in close to the roller coasters (lineups are enormous later in the day). Rooms are large and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet on the weekends is a good value but the weekday breakfast menu is pricey. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is convenient to Carlsbad for dinners or San Diego for the zoo or aircraft carrier. Gym is functional but small and the pool is a good size. Overall and excellent choice if your main aim is visiting Legoland.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business and taking the time write a review, we are please to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the resort and that it was convenient for the family traveling to LEGOLAND. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Carlsbad that you will choose the Sheraton Carlsbad again.
All the Best,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is actually very nice and has a great gym for this type of hotel. Great lobby and great restaurant...the rooms are nice as well. The only thing is it has a $12 daily parking charge. This is kind of ridiculous for this area. I can see hefty parking charges in cities or urban areas but I stay in a lot of hotels and in these kind of areas with this type of hotel,this isn't common. I guess I still recommend this hotel as it was very nice for the price but the parking charge is stupid and not common for hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and all that it has to offer. I understand your concern with your parking fees. The fee’s this allows us to maintain the area that we have available for our guest to park in. If you are traveling from out of state we have a local Carlsbad Airport that we do provide complimentary shuttle service to and from. We do hope to see you and your family again.

Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Great position with wonderful views down to the ocean, Big hotel and a slightly impersonal feel although the staff tried hard to please. Very comfortable rooms. The happy hour is a nice option with snacks and drinks available. Generally this is an expensive hotel. I would stay here again on business, but if it was for pleasure I would look for the special deals as this is on the pricey side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star reviews! We are glad to hear you business trip went well and hope that we have an opportunity to have the family here and show them that this is the place to be in Carlsbad. We have the private entrance into LEGOLAND and pool side service. Check us out this summer when we bring back Dive in movies and feature a movie by the pool every Saturday night.
All the Best
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANHATTAN BEACH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I don't go have massages often, but the opportunity to warm up the body first in a sauna or steam room prior to the treatment is a plus. The spa at the hotel also has a comfortable lounge area to relax. If you want a microwave in the room, you must ask for it and pay $10 extra and they'll bring it to your room promptly. Hotel is close to museums, Legoland, and outlet mall. Swimming pool is kept warm and clean as was jacuzzi. I was able to swim laps in the pool in the morning. We were comfortable in our hotel room and it was quiet. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Internet access in the hotel room was easy to use. Watched the sun set over the ocean from on top of the hill at the hotel on our first day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Athena in Ocean Pearl Spa is absolutely amazing. I will be sure to pass along your great feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Megan Conner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We are staying here at the moment. Brought the kids for the Legoland Marathon mile run. Great hotel. Great with kids. Friendly staff. Dave Thompson made a big fuss of all the kids after the run. Restaurant 20/20 was great last night and again good with the kids - which is why we are here.

Room Tip: The block closest to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are please that you and your guest have a great time. We have an in creditable Executive Chef and are very fortunate to have very talented team. We hope that the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa are part of the celebrations many anniversaries to come! Cheers to the next 50!
All the Best,
Megan Conner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbhenc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had our wedding party, a month after the wedding, at the Sheraton Carlsbad. We invited 100 friends and had a banquet room plus a number of guests elected to stay at the hotel for the night. Our coordinator was a great help to us in figuring out what was the best arrangement. The banquet room was a banquet room- what else can I say? But probably the biggest surprise was the foods that they served on the various food stations. OMG- we were blown away with how great it was. All of our guests commented on the beautiful presentation, the delicious taste, and the variety. Among the hits were the baron of beef and the tapas bar.

The hotel is above LegoLand and has a beautiful view of the ocean. We are locals, and often dine at the 20/20 restaurant and we consider it a true hidden gem that doesn't get the full recognition it deserves.

They upgraded us to a suite for our overnight stay and it was very nice and comfortable with a great ocean view.

The only downside was that our party was the same night as the Marine Corps birthday bash also at the hotel. I guess the party was for sergeants as there were no lower ranks or officers there. A number of the Marines and their ladies also stayed at the hotel, and let's just say that they were still pretty exuberant in the early hours of the morning. For us that was not an issue as much as it might be for other. Semper Fi guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are please that you and your guest have a great time. We have an in creditable Executive Chef and are very fortunate to have very talented team. We hope that the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa are part of the celebrations many anniversaries to come! Cheers to the next 50!
All the Best,
Megan Conner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Los Angeles and San Diego, we're adjacent to Legoland CA and provide a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.