We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for our visit to Legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for our visit to Legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We enjoyed staying here with a 4 year old grandchild and parents. Had the two room suite. Hotel was perfect for us, enjoyed their complimentary BBQ supper when we arrived on Thur evening. We were tired from driving all day so that was great to stay in the hotel and eat there. Hotel staff took us to Legoland in their shuttle and picked us up at the end of the day...nice complimentary service. Way better than walking that huge parking lot and paying to park. Nice breakfast with a good variety. Great for families! We would come back!! You can also purchase your Legoland Tickets at the front desk which is convenient.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    55
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
122
17
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Residence Inn Carlsbad for its nice suite, thoughtful design, quiet environment, and great hospitality! The guest room I stayed was clean, roomy, and well stocked. The bathroom, bed room, kitchenette, and sitting areas are all well lighted and tastefully decorated. The complimentary hot breakfast was great, and the evening time complimentary hospitality food service was greatly appreciated! I will certainly stay there again when I visit San Diego in near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

It feels like home.My husband stayed here for a month while me and my sister who flew all the way from Ontario stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel

Nice things about the hotel:
1) near a restaurant complex
2) Free breakfast and dinners (Monday-Thursdays barbeque)
3) Nice pool and jacuzzi
4) The room has a kitchen and almost everything
5) Our rooms were kept clean everyday
6) We even had free popcorn,candies, coffee,tea in the room
7) our room even had a sofa bed in the living room area

Some comments
1) The smell of the room spray was over powering
2) Should have more variety for breakfast
2)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved the room and the service we received was excellent. It was easy to drive to after you'd been there once, but directions were opposite what the GPS stated. All the amenities were fun and relaxing. I especially liked the evening socials with the free beer and wine. I didn't like the scrambled eggs every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite after a day at LegoLand. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. Jerome at the front desk was super friendly and helped recommend where to go for dinner.

The suite was plenty big enough for 5 adults and 2 children in our party. Even when the baby woke during the night the people in the other bedroom never heard him. The pool was lovely. We were sad we were only staying for one night. The absolute worse thing I can think of is they only had one waffle maker that worked poorly but in my book that is a very small thing to be concerned about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumomof3
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were excited to reserve the 2-room suite for 2 nights for a little down time on our 2 week road trip covering the national parks and attractions from Chicago out West. We checked in just before 12 midnight, finally asleep at 1:30 after lugging in all our gear since we had planned on unpacking and rearranging during the down time. We were awakened with the fire alarm blaring at 6 am. It turned out to be a false alarm, but we were never notified by the staff and the desk didn't answer the phone as we are outside waiting consoling our littlest kid. It took until 7:30 to get him back to sleep. We were all so tired we slept through breakfast. As we were getting ready to go out for breakfast instead and hit the beach, we got a phone call from Eddie at he front desk saying they didn't have a room for us for the second night so we would need to check out. I politely explained that they must be mistaken; our reservation was for 2 nights. I said that this would all be cleared up if he would talk with Jerome the night attendant who had taken the reservation and checked us in. Eddie said he would try to find us another area hotel to switch to for the night, which I told him was unacceptable because it defeated the purpose of our 2 nights stay (a home base in the middle of the day, one less day of lugging luggage out and in, a place to make a homecooked meal). I got a phone call from the supposed manager, Nick Richie, who was nothing short of rude. Since I could see there was really no way we would be able to stay since they had overbooked and we were the last ones reserving, I thought I would calmly explain our plight to him and state our preferences for resolution: 1. stay another night there 2. refund or extreme discount for the stay 3. pay our agreed reservation amount for the first night and get a complimentary/deeply discounted stary at another residence inn later in our route home (which would have taken coordination from corporate I'm sure) 4. be allowed to leave our stuff in the room until we got back from the beach around 5 pm so we could shower and be on with the rest of the road trip. Nick defensively told me that he would not respond to demands; we would need to remove our stuff before we went to the beach or it would be removed for us; Eddie would look into a local hotel reservation for us perhaps where we could check in early before going to the beach. Eddie did call back with an option for us to go to a residence inn in oceanside (the wrong direction on our route) for $20 more than our agreed carlsbad rate. We decided to head down to the desk to check out and discuss the rate reduction with the manager. Eddie informed us the manager wasn't in the building and he didn't think he would answer or talk with us. He did respond to a text from Eddie requesting the reduction of our rate. We told him that we would have no choice but to contest the full charge with the credit card if he didn't accomodate. No phone call back, just a text that the rate was the rate. We called corporate who is appalled and trying to work as intermediary. After 10 days, we finally got a generic email from the actual manager of the hote, Kelly Herrington. She offered no compensation for our troubles although she admitted our experience was bad, so we are waiting for the credit card company to work its' magic. Do yourself a favor and don't make a reservation here until management changes! Regretfully at this point I couldn't recommend any Marriott because I've found out corporate has little power and you are at the mercy of the local management. Too bad because the room and hotel would have been perfect for the price! Find a Hampton or Holiday Inn Xpress instead.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Our son is at that age wherein he lives and breathes Legos. So living in Los Angeles, it only makes sense to get an annual pass to Legoland (an hour drive). We go at least once a month or twice a month, depending on our schedule. Although we can just drive there in the morning and drive back home at the end of day, we sometimes stay for the entire weekend (starting Friday night) so we can maximize our time there. Residence Inn in Carlsbad has become our home away from home. Their rooms are clean, have a friendly staff, love the pool & gym. So far, they have not disappointed us one bit. The free continental breakfast is good, but it gets real crowded and Denny's/IHOP actually do better... but for what it's worth, it's acceptable and I won't strike them against that. Near the pool, they have a barbecue grill so other guests would fire it up and have a nice picnic. They also do have a small basketball court.

Rates are acceptable as well. It's far more cheaper than the other hotels in close proximity to Legoland. Residence Inn seems like it's out of the way, but it only takes an extra 5 minutes or less to get to Legoland... so for that, we are saving so much money, we don't mind one bit.

Being a travel professional (I own Travel Zone, a travel agency), I make it a point to mention it to clients when I know they are headed to the Carlsbad area.

Definitely this is our home away from home, when we are in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a free social hour Monday through Thursday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.