We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice residence inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice residence inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Lego Land. We had to drive back to LA the next morning so we decided to stay at Carlsbad instead of San Diego. This is a recently renovated Residence Inn and has the what I call fancy pants modern Residence décor, the room looked nicer than some of the 5 star hotels and it still had the room size and amenities that you come to expect at a Residence Inn. Very clean room, free and fast WiFi, nice big desk that you can set up a home office, I didn’t but I sure appreciated all the desktop electrical outlets that I could charge all the gadgets that our family carried for the trip without having to use my own extension cord. The breakfast area is a bit too small for the size of the hotel and got very crowded in the morning and I didn’t believe the hotel was at full capacity when we stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Huskies92,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. As a senior contributor with 39 reviews in 35 cities (as of this reply), we can tell that you have an eye for detail. We are pleased that you enjoyed the decor of our recent renovation along with the accessibility of so many electrical outlets and our new, faster WiFi. I am not sure anyone has used the term fancy pants to describe our nicer than some 5 star hotels but we are certainly flattered by the compliment!

We are fortunate to have a very busy hotel so during our recent renovation, we expanded our eating space including our outdoor space with heaters. We are always looking for more efficient ways to serve our guests and make your stay more pleasant. We appreciate the feedback.

Safe Travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
134
19
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed at the Carlsbad Residence Inn for 15 years (since they opened). We come back every year because we are treated like VIPs (even though we are not)! The staff goes out of their way to accomodate any need you may have, the newly renovated rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and of course, the hotel offers free hot breakfast items (eggs, pancakes, etc., etc.). The location is perfect for getting on Rt. 5 to all the attractions in San Diego. Needless to say, we will be back again at the Carlsbad Residence Inn when we return to California.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Kathleen K,

First let me thank you for your 15 years of loyalty to the Residence Inn Carlsbad. I am thrilled to hear that you found our renovated rooms to be comfortable. We are very happy with the renovation. I'm glad we could get your mornings started right with our complimentary breakfast. Most of all I am glad to hear the kind words about our great staff. I think we have a wonderful team, and it's guests like you that help us to be the best hotel in Carlsbad.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Carlsbad.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed there for a month the staff was extremely helpful during my stay from directions to local places to eat and shopping Alex Tranter and Geoff were awesome. thanks for making my extended stay fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
William G,

Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to serve you for an entire month! Thank you for mentioning Alex and Geoff. They are really great assets and I am pleased that they helped you navigate and unfamiliar city with some great local secrets.

Please come see us again soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for two months after relocating to North San Diego County from the SF Bay Area. We were truly homeless while we house hunted and the room was great for us to establish our base of operations and keep the wheels of commerce moving. The staff was attentive and very friendly including the housekeepers who cleaned the room daily. The front desk staff greeted us by name and were very helpful for restaurant suggestions or any other needs.

I liked the breakfasts and the evening suppers and was pleasantly surprised that they had a keg of Stone a Pale Ale as the beer choice! Stone is one of San Diego's best microbreweries and this was a great upgrade from the usual cans of Bud Light that are usually found at these receptions.

A nice quiet, clean room with a kitchen, daily maid service, full breakfast daily and the suppers four nights a week with the Thursday barbecue and the Stone Pale Ale. A great value and a great location. Trent was a very cordial host and often came by to chat at supper time.

The hotel also had a small workout room, a nice fire pit, wide screen TV by the pool and patio heaters.

We had a great stay!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in the back and it was nice and quiet. Also very convenient to the laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
John S,

Thank you for the great review! It was our pleasure to serve you for those 2 months while relocating to the area. I enjoyed talking beer and telling you about our great breweries in the micro-brew capital of the world! Don't forget to check out Stone's Escondido and Liberty Station locations for great food and great beer. Also, URGE in Rancho Bernardo.

It is great that the Monday through Thursday social hours (along with Stone Pale Ale!) and daily breakfast met your needs. It sounds like the rooms and outdoor space also met your needs well. Most of all, thank you for recognizing our staff. They are our greatest assets and appreciate the recognition.

Best of luck in the new house and please keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

As a road warrior with too many hotel stays during the past year it is with pleasure that I can write this review for this excellent property. The hotel is easy to find and has a clean, well maintained look about it as you first approach. The reception staff are pleasant, knowledgeable and appear glad to see you. This property has recently been upgraded/refurbished and it shows. The layout and public areas are inviting, clean and well thought out. The pool area has new heaters, large TV and plenty of places to comfortably sit and relax. The rooms are spacious and are also well designed. The addition of simple touches such as a curved shower rail that keeps the quality shower curtain from clinging to you and the small built in tray for your keys and small items on the edge of the sofa with power is perfect. There are power sockets right by the sofa and a sofa side table that slides under the comfortable modern sofa that allows you to relax watching TV but still be connected to the outside world with the quick wireless internet. The manager has an evening food and drink reception that provides excellent quality and choice of food and drinks. This is all complimentary and the included breakfast has the same high standards of choice and quality. I spoke with the manager of the hotel on my first evening reception; enjoying my complimentary Stone IPA and it is very clear that Trent has the experience, personality and drive to know what people want in a good hotel and has put that knowledge to great use at this property. Most importantly he seems to care about what he is doing and how to make a stay in this hotel a stay to remember. I will definitely return on my next stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Nigel A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our modern upgrades and newly upgraded internet service. Thank you for pointing out that our new rooms have outlets everywhere so you can work where you want as opposed to where the outlets dictate.

Public areas were also a priority during our recent renovation. From our media pods for a quick meeting, to our outdoor space with heaters, there is something for everyone! Even with our spacious rooms, it is nice to get out of them for a bit and be social while on the road. Our signature social hour Monday - Thursday evening is a great time for us to get to know our guests better. I am usually here at least one of those nights and it is my favorite time of the week. Being able to connect and talk to our guests beyond the normal check in/out is an amazing opportunity. Speaking to you, I was even able to talk about my upcoming trip to your home country and your experiences after relocating east from San Diego. It was a memorable conversation for me as well.

I am pleased to hear that you will be back and I look forward to seeing you then!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn in Carlsbad for two months after we relocated to the area. It was a great place for us while we searched for a home. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Everyone - Alex, Nick, Juan, Jackie and Trent - were very friendly as well as knowledgeable about the area. The hotel was very clean, and breakfast each day and dinner four nights a week helped us save some money. The location was excellent as well. We truly enjoyed our stay - it was a great "home" for us while we conducted our house hunt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Allison S,

Thank you for staying with us in Carlsbad while relocating to San Marcos! Also, thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you found our location central and a home base while house hunting. It is great that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and that our Monday - Thursday social hour not only helped you save money, but helped you get to know our staff better. Thank you for mentioning so many of them. They are our greatest asset! They love to see their name on these reviews!

Keep in touch!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

You wont find a better place. Our family stayed here 3 1/2 months with our young daughter and pets while relocating to the area. We had absolutely no complaints! Rooms are very clean, beds are fantastic, breakfast included has something for everyone. They have a nice social event Mon.-Thurs. offering a light meal and salad including wine and beer which is a nice touch after a long day. The management team and staff are top notch! I have never met a more caring, friendly and professional group of people, We truly consider them to be friends. Everyone there is very special but I must mention Marcus.....We became frantic one late evening because our cat was missing. Marcus immediately started helping us search and crawled under cars until he was able to grab our beloved cat. He is our hero!!! I don't think we would have her today without his determination! We are forever grateful.

Last but not least! The hotel value is incredible......Think about it, you could pay the same rate elsewhere and all you get is a room!

Thank You, Geoff, Trent and staff for a great stay. We miss you!
Nanette and family, Trixie too (cat)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Nanette E,

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed hosting your family for a few months while you and your family were relocating to Carlsbad. We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, great beds, and breakfast each day. Our Monday-Thursday social hour, with beer and wine, is definitely a popular with our guests.

Thank you for mentioning so many of our great staff members. I realize it is hard to list everyone but I know you enjoyed everyone that you encountered. We are even more pleased that you mentioned Marcus' heroics in recovering Trixie. I don't think cat finding is on the job description (or a daily request) but I am so thrilled that he helped in that stressful situation.

Thank you again for the great review. Please stay in touch!

Warmly,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a free social hour Monday through Thursday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.