We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property go to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
“excellent property go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

from the moment checking in and checking out is a great thing to experience wouldn't want to check in at any other hotel beautiful property with a modern splash rooms are excellent hope everyone that is planing a trip to san diego california will difinitely check out this hotel you will enjoy the after hour refersements and the breakfest buffet is one of the best.

Room Tip: all rooms are great I like the king size suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We were simply delighted to read the wonderful review you shared on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing memorable experiences, and we're glad it showed. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    55
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
127
17
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here recently and even though they were doing some renovating, our stay couldn't have been any better. The staff there are so accommodating. They are right there ready to take you anywhere on the shuttle, shop for you, whatever you need. We will definitely stay here again whether we are spending time in San Diego or Orange County. It is close to both.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Your comments regarding our customer service are very much valued. Our staff members are committed to providing the highest in customer care, and we're grateful for the recognition. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Room was decent. Clean enough, but the quality of the towels and linens were poor. We've stayed at various Marriott Residence Inns, and this one is not one of the best. We have stayed here before too. The staff seemed nice, the complimentary full breakfast buffet was excellent.

Pool and jacuzzi are nice, but the pool furniture is worn and rusty, and not the cleanest. For a Marriott property, they need to keep it up more.

As I walked through the halls, I noticed how filthy all of the doors and door jams are. Like they have never been wiped down, like ever. The carpeting in the elevators is dirty and very worn, as well as the elevators. Old school! They are currently under rennovation, so I'm curious to see how much the property improves.

Lastly, I wanted a coffee to go after we checked out. This is the first time that there was no regular coffee ready, or hot water for tea. What?? I didn't have time to bother to ask them to refill the coffee or hot water so I left.

So I hope the next time we stay here again, they have stepped it up a bit.

Location is close to the beach, less than a five minute drive. Right near the Carlsbad outlets and Legoland too.

Room Tip: Ask for a rennovated room if you visit this property within the next few months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay. We were quite disappointed to learn that your experience was less than exceptional. For that, we sincerely apologize. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping and kitchen staff, and are taking measures to rectify the points you mentioned. We expect the current renovation to improve the appearance of our hotel, and hope you will stay with us again when you return to Carlsbad to enjoy these enhancements. Please feel free to contact me directly if you do. I would personally like to ensure that you are well taken care of.

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Even though it is quite a drive from San Diego, I will most definitely stay here the next time I visit. The Staff were just amazing. Very clean room. They were in the midst of remodeling and yet we barely noticed it. We wanted to stay an extra day and they gave us the same promo rate that we made our initial booking for. Very family friendly. My boys are 5 and 3 and they had a blast at the pool and there was basketball court as well. There were a lot of other families with young kids as well. Complimentary breakfast and supper were an added bonus. Thanks for helping make our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We were simply elated to know that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, friendly staff, and free dinners most nights in the lobby make this a great place to stay. I was staying for work, but the location made for a great starting point for leisurely visits to San Diego, North County, and abroad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. At Residence Inn, we aspire to meet the high expectations travelers have come to expect of Marriott, and we're glad to know we met that goal. If you're ever in the Carlsbad area again for business or leisure, we'd love to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and clean, love that it has a kitchen. The best thing was they were serving dinner for free, and the night we stayed there, they were having BBQ night, and it was delicious! It is also 5 minutes away from legoland. Would definetly come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We were simply delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay. Our BBQ night is a favorite for most of our guests, and we're thrilled to know you enjoyed it too! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I prefer Residence Inn when I travel because of the full breakfasts, and evening meals. This Residence Inn is standard for the chain, and I found nothing profoundly lacking, or extraordinary. This was the first time I've ever used the sofa-sleeper, and it was definitely firm (not a problem for me, but just a notice to others). I really like the size of the rooms and it didn't feel cramped at all, even with the sofa-sleeper open. Every part of the room was clean.

We stayed here over a Friday night and the hotel was nearly fully occupied. This was most noticeable in the morning during breakfast when the staff could barely keep up with demand. Often one thing, or another was empty. Also, as stated in some other reviews, there are choke points in the breakfast setup creating lines of guests that block other parts of the breakfast bar. I would wager this is only a problem during the weekend due to families traveling to Legoland. I have also found the breakfast area at Residence Inn's are most crowded during the last half of the breakfast service.

The only thing this hotel was lacking was walkability. The surrounding area is almost exclusively corporate business parks. The beach, stores, and Carlsbad downtown are all a short drive away. So, expect to drive anytime you need something.

We were only scheduled to stay the one night, then blasted off to our next location. This was exactly what I expected from a Residence Inn. The only downside was the weekend crowd, but that really only speaks to the hotels desirability.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings. Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. Feedback from our guests is paramount to our success. We were pleased to hear that our property met the standards you've come to expect from Marriott. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a free social hour Monday through Thursday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.