We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Menifee, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a wonderful, efficiently run facility. My daughter and her husband reserved a two bedroom suite to share with my husband and me, since we were attending a business conference over a weekend.

We enjoyed the size of the suite, the comfort and cleanliness. The breakfast served was an actual "hot breakfast" with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, as well as, real waffles, hot oatmeal, yogurts, several fresh fruits and all the other breakfast items one would expect. The facility was very quiet and restful.

Our suite was next to the elevator and we heard absolutely no noise - very soundproof.

Room Tip: You will have to drive to restaurants, since there are none within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    75
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
153
24
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is very clean and everyone from the front desk, to the housekeeping, all the way up to hotel Management is super friendly and very accommodating to your needs/requests.

The rooms are large, bright and clean. The room separation is nice when traveling with family.

The breakfast buffet was a welcome treat.. especially for those of us with kids!

The wine reception was even better.. especially for those of us with kids! ;)

We went to Legoland on this particular trip - it was driving distance from our hotel. This hotel offers a games room and a swimming pool that is always busy with kids - our son really enjoyed the pool time.

This is THE hotel to stay at if you are visiting Carlsbad. Amazing value!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms that are not facing the pool are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I had to write this review. I am actually here for two more days and this is an excellent place to stay. For the price, in this location with the amenities (pool, spa, exercise room, internet, breakfast and dinner, cookies/deserts in the evening, etc.) anyone who complains about the occasional rambunctious noise maker and holds it against this hotel just can't be satisfied. It is clean, the staff is beyond helpful and I have wanted for nothing since I arrived. This was a business trip and the staff has made it bearable, and in fact, enjoyable. Maybe the carpets could be updated, etc. but it is safe, quiet, comfortable and relaxing. I will stay here again if I ever have the chance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting Legoland and the local beaches. We travelled with our 2 small children. I stayed at 3 Residence Inn's in SoCal recently and this was my least favorite.

Room: Clean but showing it's age. A little smaller than normal. Had a little bit of a damp feeling when we arrived but AC (whic was loud) on full blast for a hour got rid of it.
Service: Front desk was friendly. We asked for more towels and a crib, they arrived quickly.
Breakfast: Breakfast area was small but hotel was not crowded. A little less variety than other residence inn's I have stayed at. However, the food was not replenished as quickly as I would have expected - during 3 breakfasts, the fruit tray ran out twice and the toast/bagel tray once - took 8-10 minutes for them to refill.
Pool Area: Too windy to use but it looked nice but small.
Location: It's a short drive to Legoland, Costco and the outlet mall. Located in a business park so there is nothing within 2 miles of the hotel. There was a foodcourt across the the street but it was closed - probably only operates during weekday business hours.

I would recommend for 1 or 2 nights at Legoland if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights on a trip with our kids at legoland. Park is very close to hotel. This is one of the rare Residence Inn's with a true 2 bedroom suite. Both bedrooms have doors and bathrooms. Room was a little dated, but clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff was helpful. Pool is a little small and with a 3' shallow end, it isn't great for little children. But overall, a great hotel for legoland trips.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Have stayed here twice and both times were great. This is business district so expect traffic on weekdays and isolation on weekends. Nicer than the average Residence Inn as this one may be newer. Obviously lots of legoland, zoo and Sea World participants in the mix.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Except for one occasional item, we had a very good experience at this hotel. Our reason for staying there was to make it easy to visit Legoland the next day. With many folks having checked out on Sunday, we had the pool to ourselves soon after checking in at 4:00pm. It was heated as advertized and the spa was great. We reserved their two bedroom suite. The rooms are separated by a central living room & kitchen area. The entire suite was clean and had a pleasant but light scent as we first walked in that made it feel warm and homely. Each bedroom in the suite has its own bathroom which was one of the main reasons we chose Residence Inn. When we needed a play pen, a complimentary one was provided and set up for us by hotel staff. Their complimentary breakfast was well stocked (scrambled and hard boiled eggs, cereal, pancakes, yogurt, etc), including the premixed batter to make your own waffles. The "potato pancakes" are not that great. On a minor note, they should have crushed ice available for the juices. They do serve diced cantaloupe melon and also whole fruits are available in baskets nearby and so it was a pretty good breakfast.

The one improvement they need to address is to consistently answer the front desk phone promptly.

Overall, our stay was very good and will be sure to go back.

Room Tip: Reserve between Sunday and Wednesday for greater availability and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.