We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I travel a lot and this is the closest to feeling at home you could get.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Save Saved
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I travel a lot and this is the closest to feeling at home you could get.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The surf motel is one of the best places to stay next to your own home. Friendly and yet not "all up in your business". Great location. Great rates. I would recommend it to my friends and family and any others who are traveling.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Awww, thank you so much for this comment. Our team always does whatever it takes to provide a home away from home for all our guests, and it's wonderful to receive feedback like this. Thank you much, and we're looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
63
46
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was in town for a week-long conference in a more $$$$ venue. Surf Motel was *very* close by, with easy walk back and forth during breaks or anytime i wanted to run back to my room. The state beach was just across the street... restaurants, stores and coffee shops all very easy walks. I roomed with another attendee. We weren't cramped or crowded at all.

Our ground floor room was plenty comfortable, bright and clean with standard amenities, decent continental breakfast and very reasonable price. Friendly help at the front desk, easy check-in and out, quiet and safe. Nice queen beds, good heater for chilly early mornings, convenient storage for belongings, clean bathroom with natural light, hot shower with tub for evening soaks and a hair dryer! What more did we need?

i plan to go back and visit with my hubs next time ... a little honeymoon in Carlsbad would be great! If you're looking for a clean, friendly and comfy place to stay right on the ocean in Carlsbad, check out the Surf Motel. Much nicer than a chain motel!! :D

Room Tip: i stayed in 102... right next to office... and loved it! (so when i come back, i want that room agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for this great review! And we couldn't agree more, a little honeymoon in Carlsbad right by the beach would be lovely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here, great location, good customer service, and priced right. I've stayed next door at the Best Western a few times when my work was paying....but only because of the location, the hotel itself is really needing an upgrade. But, back to the Surf Motel. The motel is clean and basic, which if you're just hanging out in Carlsbad and want to be right on the ocean and only a few minutes walk from most of the action, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for this great review and for staying with the Surf Motel Carlsbad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great Location! Wonderful Customer Service! We saw The Surf Motel online and wasn't sure as it was a non-chain hotel, so we booked rooms at the Ramada thinking it was a safe bet. Boy were we Wrong!! Horrible Bed (booked a Queen and was actually a full, but what made it worse is that it was ALL spring...just awful). We decided to bare it out the first night and drove to Calsbad Village for dinner which was about 8 min from the Ramada. Once we were in the Village area we saw The Surf Motel and were surprised to see how close it was to Everything including the Beach! After dinner we decided to stop in and see if there was an avail room for the next night. Anthony the front desk man, was so Nice. He even let us look at a room. Rates remarkably reasonable for location & amenities. We decided right then that we were canceling with Ramada for that night as well. Anthony booked us our rooms in no time and we were on are way to Wonderful Weekend Get-a-Way! Will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Karen,

thank you so much for this great review. We are happy that we were able to "save" your Carlsbad vacation and we're already looking forward to see you again on your next trip.

Greetings,

your Surf Motel Carlsbad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights there because of the different reviews that we read previously! Clean and cheap for what you get. It's one of the best location in the area. Less than a minute to go to the beach. 2-3 minutes walk to go on Carlsbad Village Drive where you could find many coffee shops. We had a double queen room + fridge + micro, the room was clean. Yes you could hear the train which is probably 500 meters but the street is very quiet at night. Free WiFi was working most of the time. For the continental breakfast: coffee / juice / apples / bananas / muffins / donuts and couple other things. Most of the time we were having a little something then we would go at a coffee shop in the area.
Couple in their forties + 13 year old

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Surf in October 2013. Very friendly staff. Very convenient to food, shopping, and largest body of water on Earth. Parking was convenient. Rates remarkably reasonable for location & amenities. Snail-enhanced. Our room was festooned with convenient outlets. Only minor negative: firm beds aggravated an already-sore back. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for this great review and the recommendation! We sure are proud of our proximity to that largest body of water on Earth, and of our electrical outlets (they're everywhere!). We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed our visits. This location is at a perfect spot right across the street from the beach and close to several restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff and housekeepers are all very friendly. They will even lend out beach toys, towels, and chairs. This place is within a 10 minute drive to Legoland too. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel before booking online. You will often get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quaint seaside village, the Surf Motel Carlsbad features 28 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, a complimentary continental breakfast and primo access to one of the best surfing beaches in Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Carlsbad
Surf Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.