We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just spent two days...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Save Saved
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just spent two days...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

and my family and I had a wonderful stay. The motel is old, and a bit muskyso if your goal is to stay in your room perhaps this isn't the place for you. The shower and water was great, with a soaking tub and endless hot water that can burn so be advised! they offer chairs, beach towels and toys to bring to the beach which is a few minutes walk from the motel. The breakfast they offer is baked goods from costco, but nice...
Its cheap, clean, and in a Perfect location. shopping, food and entertainment are within walking distance. For the price, this is an excellent destination!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay, and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
63
46
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

SURF is an older 50's type motel. It is not luxurious by any means...BUT.. it is clean, well kept up,comfortable and has all the amenities necessary for a great stay. It is actually in the part of Carlsbad known as Carlsbad by the Sea which is the walking part. Lots of cool shopping, restaurants within walking distance AND the ocean right across the street. Not much view from the rooms, but who goes traveling to see the inside of their room. Save the extra $$$ enjoy great food & enjoy SoCal's virtues, surf, sun, and ocean fresh air.
I am so glad I found this place. I will certainly remember this find. Thank you Surf Motel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank YOU for staying with us and spending the time to write this wonderful review. We are looking forward to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Motel just didn't live up to the reviews. My room smelled old and musty, and there was a problem with the toilet that caused it to make a sound similar to, but not quite as loud as, air brakes releasing pressure on a semi. This would happen regularly about every 90 seconds, just load enough and often enough to guarantee I wouldn't be able to sleep. I walked back to the office and brought it to the attention of management, but was told no other rooms were available and that somebody would be sent to fix the problem the following day. The only option I found that allowed me to sleep was to turn on the vent fan in the bathroom, turn on the shower, and close the door. Sounded like a rain shower and I slept great, albeit feeling a little guilty about all the water I was wasting. Came back the next evening after a long day of touristy stuff to find the problem had not been fixed. With only one more night to go, I passed on complaining to the manager a second time and slept with the shower on again all night. Sorry Surf Motel - you really let me down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our motel. I spoke to our team members about this issue, and it appears to have been one of those rare "perfect storms" that night, not having any rooms available that we could have moved you into. The issue with the toilet has since been fixed, of course, but again, I do apologize for an experience that didn't live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff here was friendly and our room was fine with microwave and fridge. Nice tv in the room too, patio furniture right outside of room for lounging. Great location for quick trips to the beach to watch sunset or morning yoga. Shares parking lot with cafe next door. Breakfast is cereal, fruit (bananas, pears, apples) and pastries, and should be brought back to your room, as only 2 seats in lobby. We opted to purchase our coffee down the street. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in from out of town for my sons wedding. I could not have asked for a more comfortable place to stay. The accommodations were great. Everything in my room worked, was clean and comfy. It was located by the beach near downtown. Everything was accessible and within walking distance. I was there by myself and I would recommend this location for anyone wanting to get away.

Room Tip: My second floor room in the main building allowed me to walk to the end balcony and enjoy the wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Congratulations to your son's wedding! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave this great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned from here: stay was from the 4th of February to the 11th 2013. If you are looking to spend time in Carlsbad, this is the place to stay. It is close to downtown area and across the street from the beach. No beach views but not really needed when you can just cross the street. Clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff. I spent a week there visiting my son so no car was needed but if u have one the parking is free! Depending on the length of stay there is a cost for WiFI however, since we were there a week, no charge. Maid service was accommodating and great. Lots of towels. TV is older model but works with cable. Old model of microwave too but who needs it except to heat water for tea? Little refrigerator very handy and cold. Free continental breakfast: the usual bagels (ask for cream cheese), coffee, small cups so request the big ones, croissants, fresh fruit from 0700-1000 hours. The small table that seats two is nicely set next to the window in the room for early or late snacking. Anthony was very helpful and all the staff was gracious. I left some clothes and received a call from the desk, fortunately my son lives in Carlsbad so was able to pick those up. We walked around Carlsbad to all the quaint shops and along the 'boardwalk' of the beach. Since it was cold and windy no beach time for us! I would highly recommend this motel and would stay again when visiting the Carlsbad/San Diego area. My GF and I left a tip for the wonderful service we received from the housekeeping staff....bigger than my usual!

Room Tip: There are some smoking rooms but limited. Smoking is allowed in designated areas. We were on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and are hoping to see you again the next time you're visiting your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family loved this stay. We stayed last year during their remodel and it was still a fabulous stay. The kids loved the pool. The staff was excellent. The workers doing the remodel were never noisy and always polite. We loved being walking distance to the beach and to the restaurants. We will definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for this great review! Glad you and your family had a great stay, and we're looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quaint seaside village, the Surf Motel Carlsbad features 28 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, a complimentary continental breakfast and primo access to one of the best surfing beaches in Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Carlsbad
Surf Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.