We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Save Saved
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Covina, California
1 review
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in from out of town for my sons wedding. I could not have asked for a more comfortable place to stay. The accommodations were great. Everything in my room worked, was clean and comfy. It was located by the beach near downtown. Everything was accessible and within walking distance. I was there by myself and I would recommend this location for anyone wanting to get away.

Room Tip: My second floor room in the main building allowed me to walk to the end balcony and enjoy the wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Congratulations to your son's wedding! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave this great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    72
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
63
47
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned from here: stay was from the 4th of February to the 11th 2013. If you are looking to spend time in Carlsbad, this is the place to stay. It is close to downtown area and across the street from the beach. No beach views but not really needed when you can just cross the street. Clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff. I spent a week there visiting my son so no car was needed but if u have one the parking is free! Depending on the length of stay there is a cost for WiFI however, since we were there a week, no charge. Maid service was accommodating and great. Lots of towels. TV is older model but works with cable. Old model of microwave too but who needs it except to heat water for tea? Little refrigerator very handy and cold. Free continental breakfast: the usual bagels (ask for cream cheese), coffee, small cups so request the big ones, croissants, fresh fruit from 0700-1000 hours. The small table that seats two is nicely set next to the window in the room for early or late snacking. Anthony was very helpful and all the staff was gracious. I left some clothes and received a call from the desk, fortunately my son lives in Carlsbad so was able to pick those up. We walked around Carlsbad to all the quaint shops and along the 'boardwalk' of the beach. Since it was cold and windy no beach time for us! I would highly recommend this motel and would stay again when visiting the Carlsbad/San Diego area. My GF and I left a tip for the wonderful service we received from the housekeeping staff....bigger than my usual!

Room Tip: There are some smoking rooms but limited. Smoking is allowed in designated areas. We were on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and are hoping to see you again the next time you're visiting your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family loved this stay. We stayed last year during their remodel and it was still a fabulous stay. The kids loved the pool. The staff was excellent. The workers doing the remodel were never noisy and always polite. We loved being walking distance to the beach and to the restaurants. We will definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for this great review! Glad you and your family had a great stay, and we're looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My girlfirends and I recently stayed at the Surf Motel in late January 2013 for the Tri-City Carlsbad Marathon. What a GREAT Place! The rooms were clean and spacious, and the room service was terrific. The front desk personnel were FABULOUS! I booked the room way back in August; Anthony was SO helpful! And when we arrived and departed, Bob was there with smiles and a kind word. He was a terrific, friendly gentlemen.

I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here, and we WILL BE BACK again soon!

(P.S. We only had to walk across the road to get to the beach (lovely!) AND PAID $100 LESS than those people in motels on the beach side!)

Room Tip: We were in the back building, upstairs in a double-bed room. It was quiet all night. The rooms clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! Yes, Anthony and Bob really are the best, I am lucky to be working with such great team members. We are looking forward to see you again in the future, and greatly appreciate your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A friend recommended this small motel. The staff, Bob and Anthony, were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms and grounds were spotless. The room was well stocked with towels. Many high priced hotels skimp on the towels. The property was nice and quiet even though there were no vacancies during the time I was there. There was beautiful landscaping in the front. And, it's just across the street from the beach. I will definitely stay here the next time I go to Carlsbad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The reviews sold me on this hotel and were spot on. It is not fancy, but the beds are comfortable and rooms clean. The location is ideal, right on the Pacific Coast highway so an easy walk to the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Perfect, inexpensive get away.

Room Tip: We were given a room away from the street, which is ideal because it is on the PCH which is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pleasant, comfortable, and perfect location. Wonderfully healthy breakfast to keep almost anyone content. $90 week-end rate dropped to $80 Monday rate (Winter). We had a very pleasant stay. Carlsbad is fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. And yes, Carlsbad IS fun! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 3136 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quaint seaside village, the Surf Motel Carlsbad features 28 newly-renovated guest rooms and suites, a complimentary continental breakfast and primo access to one of the best surfing beaches in Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Carlsbad
Surf Hotel Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.