We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Carlsbad to your Saves list
Days Inn Carlsbad
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3700 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Comfort Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I agree with other reviewers: my room was actually a mini-suite, perfectly maintained and clean. Breakfast was abundant and varied, with enough sitting space, which is not always the case. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Wifi worked well. The hotel is along the freeway, but the soundproofing is good. Do not expect to sleep with an open window, though!

Room Tip: As for all hotels along freeways: ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    26
    15
    3
See reviews for
90
29
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Our family stayed at the Comfort Inn for 2 nights while we were visiting Legoland. It's a no frills motel where rooms are situated outside, i.e. door led outside. The breakfast was simple, pastries, toast, cereal, juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee and (my favorite) waffles. Wifi was available for free. There were not a lot of people there, which I liked as it was quiet. We decided to stay here in favor of the Quality Inn (which we had done stayed at twice before) because we wanted a quiet place and this place was good for that. My only complaint is that there was no ventilation in the bathroom, so after one shower, the bathroom turned into a sauna. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs.rose@cox.net
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We wanted to stay somewhere near Legoland but worried about cleanliness and comfort. You hear so many bad stories about bed bugs.
This hotel was very clean and the service at check in was wonderful. I can't recall the gentleman's name but he walked us through the process completely and even suggested places to eat. He gave us a room near the front and it was very quiet. The beds are soft, the towels are soft and the water pressure in the shower was nice! They had a flat screen TV, Microwave, Fridge and Coffee pot in the room which is nice when you are traveling with children. We like to have microwave popcorn at night and brought some just in case! The room is spacious and the heating/cooling is very comfortable. The beds are slightly soft but for some that may be better than too firm. They offer a free continental breakfast and you can make your own waffles-also fun for the kids!

Overall I would recommend this hotel for the price and area. Very clean and no sign of bugs!

Room Tip: Choose room 114 or 115, very quiet and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Having arrived tired and exhausted on Friday 16th September 2011, late afternoon and after trawling round looking for a decent place to stay (and after visiting the Econo Lodge next door which did not impress us!) we chose to stay at the comfort inn and we made the correct choice.
We were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful young man at the check in reception who treated us in a very friendly and professional manner (his name escapes me, as I intended to write to his manager to complement him!!).
Our room was situate to the rear and side of the motel and was very spacious with a king size bed, fridge etc.
The room was immaculately clean and in pristine condition and as we were to the rear of the motel, the road noise did not affect us at all.
After a very good night sleep we went downstairs to the breakfast buffet which was very impressive indeed and immaculately presented with a very beautiful and friendly female member of staff who was on hand to help and advice. There was an extensive choice of food, albeit continental type, fresh make your own waffles were available which I had with lashings of maple syrup and cream - delightful. There were ample cereals, hard boiled eggs, Danish pastries and bread rolls and choices of tea, coffee and fruit juices.
A hearty breakfast set us up for the day for our onward drive to San Diego.
I must add, that this is probably the nicest Comfort Inn motel, I have had the pleasure to stay overnight in.
AND if the manager is reading this review, please pass on our sincere thanks to the young man who checked us in, he is a true ambassador for your hotel chain and I would imagine will be one of your managers, in the not too distant future.
Well done Comfort Inn @ Carlsbad, CA.
+++++

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We didn't have any problem finding the hotel. The evening desk clerk was very nice although he thought that I couldn't get Southwest airline rapid rewards for my stay. When I got to the room I called the "choice privileges" number from the brochure he gave me at the front desk. They took all the information & cleared it up right away. He was a very nice guy, he just didn't know. The next morning when I checked out they apologized for the misunderstanding. The breakfast was the standard with waffles you make yourself, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. it was satisfying. I was worried when walked to the elevator, there was a lot of freeway traffic noise. I thought the room would be noisy but it was very quiet. the bed was very comfortable but they need to get blankets that fit the size of the bed. My husband is 6ft 2in. & he either had to have his shoulders uncovered or his feet uncovered. That was the only complaint with the room. Otherwise, it was very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

an hotel near the freeway. We anticipated noise. But instead we had the more quiet hotel as possible. Very clean, new sheets and towelsbut more was the service from employees at the reception. They make all they can to have you satisfied. Th epoolis verynoisy though because of the freeway just beside. But if like us,you don't expect using it, I recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: We could change and have a room on the backyard. But finallywe didn't because it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

It's a Comfort Inn...no frills, just nice and clean. If you are looking for a place to sleep at night that doesn't cost a lot of money with free wi-fi and free parking in the San Diego area, you have come to the right place. Towels are small and thin, but the beds were nice and comfy. It is next to a freeway, so outside the rooms it is very loud, but inside our room, you couldn't hear the noise.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra $10 for a flat screen t.v. - the old t.v. was fine with all the channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Address: 3700 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#23 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby attractions include the seasonal Carlsbad Flower Fields and Legoland. Carlsbad contains everything from historical museums, golf parks, and shopping malls. Free continental breakfast served from 6:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Free parking, free cable with 60 plus channels and HBO, free hi-speed wireless Internet available. On site guest laundry facility and outdoor heated pool. The building allows all rooms to have access to courtyard. One hundred percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Comfort Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Carlsbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.