We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Carlsbad South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   750 Raintree Drive, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA CA 92011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's .55 miles from the beach! We took the Coaster to downtime Carlsbad and took a cab back which was about $17, the coaster stopped running at 11:58pm. The room was clean and updated from the motel 6 I used to know. It's a basic room, no frills. Front desk was awesome, especially Rogelio. Grounds were clean and nice. Pool was great to get sand off! I loved this hotel. Will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
21
12
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Highly recommended motel, but just a few key notes to help you make your decision...

Pros:
• MOTEL – The location, you just can’t beat it. 10 minutes’ walk to the beach, 10 minutes’ walk to several places to eat and shop (drug store/grocery store). There is an ice machine and vending machine next to the office, along with a microwave. Ample parking outside, the area surrounding the hotel is beautiful and very safe. Interstate 5 is about the way to get to this motel, it had some heavy traffic the whole weekend.
• ROOM – 100% up to date and cleanliness a plus. Flat screen TV has HDMI. The A/C isn’t your typical box near a window that you control and have rattling all night. It’s actually central and has a thermostat on the wall just like at home, nice and quiet and works great.
• STAFF – Completely helpful and friendly, no problems with check in or out. Manager on both days were present and spoke with me each day. There was one night our smoke alarm kept going off at 2am and was offered to stay in another room, however it was a smoking room so we declined. We were able to disable it and the manager the next morning apologized profusely and offered compensation without even asking!

Cons:
• MOTEL – Our room was on the bottom floor. That means, everyone coming to and from their cars, setting their alarms, wheeling their luggage, children screaming and running and every conversation is heard right outside your window and door. This was seriously disrupting all night and early morning. Lost quite a bit of sleep staying here.
• ROOM – Outside lights keep your room lit all night long. The bed is just a mattress on a frame, no box spring. I didn’t find it uncomfortable at all though, I had more of an issue with the large stiff pillows that kept my head at a 45 degree angle all night. No clock or alarm clock present in the room. No shampoo is provided. You need to bring your own or buy some at the nearest shop (again, drugstore/grocery store close by). We were lucky enough that the manager that night had some samples sent by Dove, so we had enough to get us through our stay. But that isn’t a guarantee it will always be available. No amenities such as a hair dryer or iron, refrigerator etc. WIFI does cost $3.00 per day usage.

Other side notes:

Places to eat nearby - Benihana, great food, very entertaining, also very expensive. We've eaten at this place before, so we skipped this time around.
We did try Primo Pizza & Pasta, simply fantastic! Portions are good, prices are a litte more than you would expect, but the quality was top notch. The staff was also friendly and the place was constantly busy. Two TV's were going with sports, not very loud at all.
We also ate at the Pick Up Stix, again, delicious! Very new and clean, didn't take long to get served and food tasted fresh and healthy. Reasonable Prices too.
Jerry’s Wood-Fired Dogs…definitely something you have to try, the burgers were out of this world!

So to sum it all up, we would consider staying here again just for the convenience and the location but maybe next time we'll ask for a room in the back to see if that helps with the noise and light factor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were evacuated for the Cocos ie San Marcos Fire - this was only place we found that would take dogs.
The good - appears to have been recently renovated, hard floors (think faux wood which is fine)
The bad - although we were really lucky to get a room due to the 10's or thousands evacuated, I am not sure that the room was thoroughly cleaned before we checked in. There were some hairs and something else on the sheets and I have to admit, if we hadnt been evacuated I would probably have left.

Plus now at 12 days past, my son has a lice infection on his head. From my research, and the size of the bugs, they would have had to "arrive" at around 10 to 15 days ago. So the probable cause especially as we were inside and did not go anywhere until the following Monday is the motel.

I agree that there are definitely permanent tenants there - the side facing the street (vs freeway) had some questionable sorts who obviously lived there. They had coolers and knew each other. There are strawberry fields close so maybe migrant workers.

Again it served our purpose, and we just stayed in our room as the county burned. Luckily our house didnt catch on fire.

Room Tip: the highway side is noisy but more tourists less permanent residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misoula,MT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We checked out our standby, Palomar Inn and found they have upgraded which means more $$$. Since it also eliminated continental breakfasts as well and NO senior discount it would have been $70 plus TAX! Up the 5 to Carlsbad we called Motel 6 and found a room w/ 2 beds, great TV, WiFi , but no breakfast for $65 (w/ senior discount). Very convenient, clean, and friendly. Palomar Inn not so friendly anymore! Thus, we've found our New digs heading N!

Room Tip: If over 60 ask for senior discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great rate and fairly quiet for being adjacent to the freeway. Very, very clean - good TV - and comfortable bed. Staff was excellent and there's plenty of parking. Close to small mall and many restaurants. Most motels don't have good hot water or towels - this place does!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just needed a place to stay before hitting the airport the next day and were tired so ended up here. Very basic, older hotel, the room wasn't bad and the bed was decent. It was reasonably priced but kindof weird that I had to go back to the front to pay $3 extra for a wifi card.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 3 days here over the 2013 Christmas holiday season. This place is basically a place to sleep. Rooms are modern and clean, but they don't even supply you with coffee in the rooms. It's close to the beach and a nearby mall. They also have a pool which we didn't use so I can't comment on it. Staff are friendly and helpful. Laundry services are available near the front office.

I would recommend this place if you have a tight budget.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Address: 750 Raintree Drive, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA CA 92011
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel Six
Carlsbad Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Carlsbad South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.