We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idiots in charge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Carlsbad South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   750 Raintree Drive, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA CA 92011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
CARLSBAD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idiots in charge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We paid for a room online for our nephew's Christmas visit. Upon their arrival, they had to pay for it again with their own card, saying mine was just to hold the room. However if they hadn't shown up, they would have charged my card. Ha! I called and they said to come down and they would run my card and refund their card. When I showed up with my card, they said my nephew had to be there at the same time. When I asked why, they said they don't want my business anymore, and my nephew had to be out of the room within an hour. When he arrived, they had cancelled his electronic room key and he had to climb through the window to retrieve his luggage. I recommend the Motel 6 across the freeway (Carlsbad East).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
18
10
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

STayed at this Motel 6 in Carlsbad, CA several times over the past few years. Its located south of Hwy 78 to Escondido and at the Palomar Airport exit. The place is always clean and the service is friendly at a moderate rate. A good stopping place for the night. The motel is located across the street from a German Style resturant/deli which has good food and cold beer and is easy to get in and out w/o to much expense, close to filling stations & other resturants up the street. Altough close to I-5 there isn't to much road noise. Never a problem here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Totally decent - it's really one of the cheapest motels around (I spent some time looking too), close to the beach and Legoland. It is what you would expect - rooms where made up each day, basic TV, no fridge (we brought a cooler, they have 2 ice machines). Pool was OK, closed for maintenance one day but no big deal. Free mediocre coffee in the office in the AM. Would defiantly stay here again - we spent most of our time out and about. You can hear the freeway but that goes for any motel next to the 5 (didn't bother me personally).

Room Tip: We choose a downstairs room so the kids would bother the people below, but we didn't hear any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stay here every year when we come down to attend horse races at Delmar and sightsee. Great location. Only 2 blocks from the beach. Clean rooms and friendly front end staff. Really close to a little shopping centre that has full service grocery store and deli plus drug store and fast food outlets as well a Starbucks. Easy to get to either the coastal highway or the freeway. Would highly recommend it for economically minded people. Courtesy coffee, laundromat and ice machine. We'll be back. We had another couple with us who both needed handicapped rooms. They were very satisactory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least amount of freeway noise. We had a room on the south side of the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stay at this Motel 6 most times when I go over to Encinitas/Carlsbad. They raise their rates by like $20-30/night on Friday and Saturday and it surely is NOT worth it, but during the week they are generally reasonable.

I always ask for the AARP rate (yes being over 50 has some benefits!!), which saves 10% and that pays for your taxes!

The rooms on the backside facing the ocean are the best. There is a loop trail that is great for walking pups...probably about 1.5 mile loop...just sort of nice to stroll. Great location to get anywhere. I've always found the front desk folks to be very obliging....

Be sure you check out PIERVIEW COFFEE in Oceanside if you are in the area! Just love that place and it's DOG FRIENDLY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent 2 days in Encinitas and decided to extend our stay but wanted to save $$. We found this Motel 6 for $80 on a Friday night, a value in this area. I was skeptical and honestly did not want to stay at a Motel 6 but was pleasantly suprised. It wasnt anything special but I wasnt expecting a lot being it is a Motel 6! The room had no frills but was clean. We needed a hair dryer and were able to get one from the front desk easily. Hotel is very close to the beach, you can walk or a short drive for a lot of beach options. We drove less than 5 minutes and stopped at a great area. Front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant, we arrived before 12:00 noon (yes BEFORE NOON) and they were able to get us into a room right away. I would definitely stay here if I am in the area again, especially if I am on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Expensive for no amenties and the room was cramped and dark. Bulbs burned out, no shampoo, no hair dryer, the toilet ran all night, the freeway noise is terrible and the decor is depressive at best and charged 2.99 for WiFI. Never again!

Room Tip: If you must stop, ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Address: 750 Raintree Drive, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA CA 92011
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel Six
Carlsbad Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Carlsbad South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.