We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise! Family Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise! Family Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed the week at the La Costa resort with a friend and a total of 3 children ages 5, 8, 9. We had a suite with a single room connected. The booking was made online and was very easy to make the booking.

Upon arrival we were met with the car valet who took care of all the luggage (which was alot) and we were escorted to the reception area where we checked in. There was a conference checking in at the same time so there was a bit of a wait. But there were 4 staff members checking in guests. After getting our keys, we were offered a ride with our luggage in a large golf cart, the kids thought that was great.

The room was very well appointed and tastefully decorated. We had a small balcony off the single room that was attached to the suite. The beds and linens were top shelf! The bathrooms were magnificent with very deep bathtubs which as a bonus for the adults for a long soak! The bathroom in the suite there was a movable screen which allowed you to watch the tv in the bedroom area from the bathtub!

There were international newspapers availible at this resort and was such a treat for us. the in room internet worked beautifully without any problems.

The pools were great and there was waterslides and water play area for the kids, it was so fun we never made it to the beach. The kids went to the kidsclub one day and had a great time and the groups were small where the staff members were able to get to know the children well.

The only non friendly thing at this resort was the food in the resturants. I mean what parent is going to pay $10 for pancakes when they would be hardly eaten. The food was grown up food made to sound like kid friendly. But there was too many complaints of weird sauces and things on the food from our children. There were well known chain food outlets within a mile of the resort, where the kids liked the meals much better. For the adults the food was fab and the wine selection was good.

Note that the staff was incredible, remembering our names and addressing the children everytime we pasted. One night the adults decided to have late night ice cream room service after the children were in bed. They did not have a sundae on the menu, but room service brought ice cream, chocolate sauce, whipped cream and cookies so we could make our own. When we discovered that we had way too much food, we were going to share with the night reception staff, we told them we had eaten ourselves sick, their first reaction was to send some stomach medicine to the room, wow now that is service!

Other then the food, this is a great place for a family stay and was very relaxing for both adults and children! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    246
    146
    94
    63
See reviews for
356
180
66
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

I really cant say enough good things about La Costa Resort and Spa. From the amenities, to the views surrounding the resort and the service. I was greeted by Joaquin Genrich who is the resort manager, he was polite, courteous, accommodating and kind. I will definitely be returning to La Costa and asking for Joaquin by name.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We had a fabulous time! My husband and I went with another couple for a golf/spa weekend away from Vancouver. The weather, the resort, golf, spa, staff, rooms were all fantastic! We would definitely go back. We are already planning our trip back !
We totally recommend this resort. The pool and food was fabulous too. You can order drinks and food at the pool and you can get fresh bbq hotdogs on the course. Make sure you go to the spa early for steam room and pool and hottub before your treatment. It is the best for friends to go for a fun filled weekend for golfingand spa-ing! My girlfriend and I golfed with our husbands one day and one day we did the spa and the guys golfed again. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

It is a beautiful hotel, but between the service and the overpricing, definitely not worth it. If you are okay with the money, stay some where else like the Ritz-Carlton, at least there you feel like you are getting what you pay for. The golf course was not in very good shape. Aviara (near by) was head and shoulders above this place.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

This is the only place I travel to for vacations with my family. The facility and service is 5 star. The children never get in the way of the serene atmosphere because they have their own pools, arcades and activities. Between the tennis, beach, shopping, food, golf and spas you will be in heaven. we love this place!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

I stayed at La Costa for two nights in 2/2009 while attending a conference. While the grounds and facilities are quite impressive, the service is lacking. The parking lot is quite a distance from the guest rooms. While lugging my bags to my room, several staff passed by without a single offer of assistance or even a greeting. It wasn't the level of service I anticipated from La Costa. Service aside, it is a lovely place to stay as it is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

First off, they charge you to park in the hinterlands and hike to your room. Self Parking is $12 a day, valet $25. If I'm going to park my car in the boonies and trek back and forth, I'd think that they'd not charge me for putting my car in what is essentially a big parking lot at the edges of the resort.
There is a $15/day charge that covers 'resort fees' - which include internet access, in room coffee, a USA Today, and use of the fitness center. The first day, I had to call twice to get my $15 newspaper :)
Note that you can't drive up to the main lobby. Once I arrived, and parked my car in the self-parking lot, I wandered around with my luggage trying to find the check-in and finally found a person that could direct me.
Having said all that, the rooms were large and clean, the service friendly, the meals nice (if a bit expensive), and the bathroom was spacious with a large soaking tub.
The location is convenient. I was there for a conference, so many of my meals were included. However, my one breakfast I had to buy cost me $18, which is a bit pricey for one person, I think.
The landscaping and grounds are very lush, very nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.