We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a great place! A little bit daunting at first because of all the rooms - but none are very far from anything - and they are QUIET! The pleasant Staff is what makes the place so wonderful. They will do anything for you to make sure you have a pleasant time.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    260
    158
    103
    64
See reviews for
388
191
71
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great service, great room, great everything.

This is the place to go. From the moment you get here, you will be pleased.

I was here for a conference and the resort did not disappoint. I had a bit of a difficult time during check-in but Matt (the front desk manager) fixed it all in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travelled to La Costa Resort in Carlsbad for a business convention. The resort is lovely, with gorgeous grounds, beautiful scenery and a great location. We stayed in a premium room which included a sitting area and separate bedroom and bathroom.

The Good- the room was spacious, clean and ready when we arrived. The location was in the 900 building which is down past the pool and near the golf course. Our room was behind a bunker which gave us a view of the grass and hill in front. Not a problem because it was private and quiet. We had friends stay in the rooms near the marketplace and they did complain of the noise in the hallways and doors slamming all hours of the night. We didn't have this problem. The adult pool was amazing, with plenty of chairs and towels. The children's pool was always busy, but they have lots to keep the kids busy with a sand beach and waterslide. The athletic club was excellent, clean and well equipped. The big issue is the size of the resort. If you have mobility issues, then you might have trouble getting around.

The Cost-eating and drinking at this resort is EXPENSIVE! Wine was $14 a glass. Lunch for one cost at least $30 and the breakfast buffet was $24. The food is excellent and the wine was tasty, but there is a grocery store just down the street so you might want to pack some of your own goodies. There is a marketplace that has fresh food available 24 hours.

The resort also houses the Chopak Center-I went to daily meditations, which were free, twice a day. Very relaxing.

If you are looking for a resort experience, then this could be your place. The beach is only a 10 minute drive away. The traffic on Interstate 5 is horrendous, so take the coastal road when you go for drives.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the golf course are the nicest! The ones in the marketplace a noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the La Costa resort many times in the past before it was the Omni. After researching a lot of places, including Palm Springs, I decided to stay at this location. Was also looking at the hotel for corporate events.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great time at La Costa Resort and Spa over the Valentine's Day weekend. Everything was topnotch. Would definitely recommend staying there to anybody. Gotta remember my clubs next time and get out on the links.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were ready to head back home to Arizona after a disasterous night at a local motel which shall remain nameless for this review...but thought we'd try and see if La Costa had any rooms. At the main desk, Matthew Bennett took over and helped us get into a beautiful room, poolside, spacious - in a word, spectacular! And they accept pets so our doggie was happy too! The room was spotless, bathroom huge with soak tub and separate shower. The bed was so comfortable and the sitting area also comfy. Housekeeping does an outstanding job daily as well. We enjoyed the food, especially the goodies - pastry chef Jaimie Hileman does a great job with inventive ideas for yummy treats. Everyone was very accommodating. Cannot say enough about how helpful Matthew was to save our California stay from disaster, and Jaimie to provide lovely desserts for our romantic stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear AZJudi,

Thank you so much for the kind words, we're happy to hear your trip to California ended on a high note. We hope you'll visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the weekend here for a getaway and some golf with the lady.

What a treat. Front desk operation was friendly and helpful as was valet who golf carted us to our room. After a quick stop at the very comfortable and well stocked lobby bar.

Room was terrific. Spacious and comfortable. Great beds.

AT first the property seems quite big but everything is a short walk away and in there are birds and bunnies about to make you smile.

Golf was good. Pretty forgiving course, lots of birds again. A clever design has drinks, food and toilets at a hub that you see them three times over the 18 holes. Very civilized and convenient.

Saturday we stayed on property and ate at the Bluefire Grill and watched a duo sing 70's and 60's songs. They were great, friendly and playful. Had a fine meal and great entertainment with a stroll under the moonlight back to the room via the golf course. How awesome.

They have a number of pools, kids and adults only. Not great pool menu, but adequate. Very relaxing. One pool has a huge slide which plenty of kids and grown ups enjoyed.

Good complementary gym with all you need to work out well including an amazing view of the golf course.

You can pop out to Encinitas, a cool town/village only five minutes away by car if you want to see something but don't want to deal with traffic.

Very pleasant weekend of relaxation and an easy 25 minute drive to San Diego to fly home.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.