We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I just got back from this amazing resort for a business function. Talk about being taken care of. The food was great, rooms clean and comfortable (if you go stay in the 6000 room numbers) and friendly staff. Lots to do in the area!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    257
    154
    102
    64
See reviews for
384
187
70
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for just one night to celebrate her birthday. We found the rooms very nice and well apportioned, the spa/massage services were excellent, and the staff were as friendly as could be. This was a great weekend get-away resort and I would highly recommend it. Next time, I will visit with my kids and stay much longer.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Chopra Center in this resort is a must go to destination. They compliment each other tremendously. ayurvedic lessons, great gift store and knowledgable staff, you have to make an appointment and they offer various courses throughtout the year. it is a well desrevd inward trip to knowing yourself and othersand how we all fit into the universe!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly service by the staff and the market place cafe/restaurant was an excellent rendez-vous as well as selling healthy meals and drinks. Rooms are spacious and the facilities such as pools were very good. Two really challenging golf courses!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the market place/reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited on a business conference. Stayed in a "golf suite", nice room, smelled a tad musty the first night but after that it was fine. Hotels should dispense with carpet in their rooms. Every employee I dealt with was excellent, clearly hotel management has a real focus on customer service. Location was great, some of my colleagues golfed on the courses and said they were very good. The food was also excellent, When you consider we were part of a big conference it makes the food quality that much more impressive as it was cooked for many people. The fitness club was the best hotel fitness club I have ever seen.

Overall I highly recommend this resort and would go back personally.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a tough time at this resort. The first room I was given (room 723) was right next to an elevator, and whenever the elevator was in use, the sound in the room was really loud. We asked to be moved. We were placed in room 843, which was down a long carpeted hallway including two ramps, meaning a lot of pushing as a wheelchair user. The room did seem quieter, so we stayed there. Unfortunately, we found out that night that there was a family with a baby in the room right next door, and we could hear the crying through the wall. The room itself was fine, comfy beds, big bathroom, small patio.
The first afternoon of our visit, I went to the "edge" pool, which is the nicest pool at the resort. It's the adult pool, and it's an infinity pool with a lovely view of the golf course. Unfortunately, I could not go in because there was not a lift at this particular pool. I spoke to the manager, Christopher Garcia, about this, and he was pretty useless. He gave me the number for Omni's attorneys! Many other pools at the resort had lifts, but not the adult pool and not the spa pool. This was really disappointing and upsetting (as as far as I can tell from reading the ADA laws, they must, by law, have a lift at every pool).
The food at the resort was regular hotel food. If you are a foodie like me, then you can barely wait to get off campus and eat something that is local, or organic, or isn't out of a buffet line.
I went for a massage at the spa, and that was lovely. I had a good massage, sat in the steam room, and took a nice shower afterwards. The spa was probably the highlight of our stay.
I agree with other reviewers - the staff is hot or miss. Some seemed fine, others completely incompetent (one didn't know how to get to the pool and she ended up taking me on a very circuitous route.)
I bet if we had gone with kids, we would have had a much better experience. It seemed like a kids' dream with the awesome pools, video game room, and ability to roam the resort without worry. Overall, it felt like a regular hotel on a big piece of property. It also felt pretty removed from the coast (even though it's a short drive away), so you might as well be in the middle of the country instead of being on the beautiful California coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear ahb123456,

Thank you for visiting us, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your compliments on our spa and hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not have been more pleased with my experience at the Chopra Center at the Omni Hotel. Both the meditation retreat and hotel experience exceeded my expectations. It provided a relaxing environment with exceptional service.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.