We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Costa for business meetings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
“La Costa for business meetings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Found this resort to be exceptionally scenic and relaxing in addition to having very comfortable rooms with a pleasant views of the golf course. My room (800's) was located convenient to the pool and common areas. The Diversions lounge was a great place to watch football games, while eating some great food with a fine selection of beers on tap. The bar staff was both helpful and friendly. All the meals offered at the ballroom were excellent, including the hospitality offerings. Loved the cheese quesadillas and chocolate brownies. I am ready to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    241
    144
    93
    62
See reviews for
348
175
65
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Landscaping and grounds are the highlight of this resort. Staff is friendly but not very welcoming and only helpful when engaged. Cleanliness fo the resort left a lot to be desired, public restroom in Diversions lounge was littered with paper towels, trash and urine on the floors and remained that way for hours. Pool areas were found to be a disaster in the mornings, trash everywhere, empty glasses and bottles. Food was reminscent of a retirement home comunity. Very bland and very little seleeciton. No creativity in the menu.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Aaron D,

Thank you for the kind words about our grounds. Our staff makes every effort to provide a safe, clean environment for our guests at all areas of our resort and we apologize if you feel we did not meet these standards during your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I finally had the opportunity to stay at the Omni La Quinta in San Diego. From the greeting of the valet team to the front desk staff and every server and housekeeper, it was a great place to stay. In town for a conference, i took full advantage of the gym each morning and of the huge and nicely tiled jacuzzi right outside my room. The grounds are lovely and clean, and I would definitely return for whatever reason possible.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Resort is beautiful with palm trees and architecture. The self parking is on one side of the resort and depending on your room location you have to walk a long distance with your baggage. If you pay $25.00 for valet parking they will give you a ride. Room smelled like a nursing home, old musty smell. Shower door leaked badly even after they came and replaced the door seals. May be that is why the room smelled really bad, possibly mold in the walls and under floor. Fire alarm started chirping at 3:00 am in the morning. Maintenance did not come until later that morning. There are many other resorts in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sukru E,

Thanks for staying with us. We're sorry about shower door and the fire alarm in your room. We've alerted our engineering team about the issue and it has be repaired. We hope to have you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have to say: the grounds are stunning. That said, I was underwhelmed with my stay here. When I checked in, they gave me my key and pointed me in the general direction of my room, which was a 15 minute walk from reception and I got lost on the way. Why don't they have someone to show me my room?
The room itself was fine, but smelled a bit weird, and the pillows were hard and lumpy. There was also not a blow dryer in my room, so I called housekeeping and it took 15 minutes for them to bring me one (probably because the rooms are so far from everything) -- I had sopping hair and needed to be somewhere, so the wait / lack of hair dryer was not great.
I didn't get enough time to enjoy the property, and wished I did. This is definitely not the Ritz, but seems like a nice enough resort.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a long weekend with a group of 18.

Negatives:
Paper thin walls in the rooms! Could easily carry on - and hear - full conversations of the people next door, especially while in the bathroom.
What is with this hotel's obsession with louvered doors? Louvered doors in the bathrooms in the rooms and also in public areas provides little privacy.
The rooms were updated so that the bathrooms were larger, unfortunately that means the two mirrors are only located within the bathroom. The rooms need one more mirror outside of the bathroom area.
Breakfasts are very overpriced - not uncommon in a hotel of this size. I ordered one scrambled egg, a small cup of cottage cheese and a glass of orange juice - $19 with tip
Very family friendly, meaning MANY kids. This could be a positive or a negative

Positives
It is very large and has beautiful grounds.
The beds are super comfy.
The spa is huge and run well. I had a wonderful massage with Holly and a super great facial with Kaitlin. I had a pedicure and blow dry at the salon that were just OK. Salon staff was indifferent.
There is a bit of a cattle call feeling at the top of each hour when the spa staff collects their clients for services.

Blue Fire Restaurant
We went as a group and had a set menu. All agreed the squash soup was one of the best soups they had. Skip the Cesar salad - very bad. Skip the desserts - equally bad. Service was very sketchy and slow though there were plenty of staff standing around in front of the kitchen.

Overall, it is a beautiful place that is hard to sleep in due to the noise - not the bed. We probably will not return or recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Marco51,

Thanks for the kind comments about our resort, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the food at BlueFire and that you were comfortable in our beds. We appreciate your remarks and hope you'll consider staying here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay there was during a 2-day work training event and the property was stunningly beautiful. However, I was in a conference room the whole time so I was paying for features and amenities that I could not use. The food was great and it looked like a great place to be while on vacation. This hotel appeared to cater to golfers... and I am not one.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.