We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, rooms weren't spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Carlsbad
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, rooms weren't spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our two year wedding anniversary. We thought it would be relaxing and quiet in October but the pools in the main area were packed with people and it was difficult to get a chair. The photos on the website make their pools look a lot larger than they are, especially the adult pool. Our room overlooked the pool area but was old and needs to be updated. The atmosphere was nice and the restaurants were delicious. The Sunday brunch was nice.

Room Tip: As for a pool view room not a garden room. The garden rooms overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    234
    141
    92
    62
See reviews for
339
166
63
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Country, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Expected more. When we arrived we went to our room only to find one bed unmade. The room clearly had not been cleaned from the last guest. We contacted the front desk who sent over a woman from housekeeping. She was very nice and very apologetic. We left for a few hours, When we returned the room was clean and they left some cookies and milk. However, the cookies were stale, the milk cartons were resting in an ice bucket of warm water. Accompanying this failed concession was a form note welcoming us to the hotel, not apologetic. After all this we found a massive spider web behind the TV credenza, and the next morning we found that the shower door sweep was broken so a large amount of water leaked out onto the bathroom floor. The management made no effort to make us feel welcome or to apologize for their mistakes.

The breakfast cafe had great views. The service, however, was again poor. The understaffed cafe left servers with short tempers and a lot of empty tables. The food was over priced for the quality. My oatmeal was lumpy, the food was served to my children 10 minutes after they served the adults.

My whole family thoroughly enjoyed the pools and watersides..

In summary, great views, great pool, poor service. We will not be back, views and pools can be found elsewhere, great service is unfortunately rare.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerPringle, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ernestshakelton,

We're glad to hear your family had a good time at the resort, but we're disappointed to hear about the service you received during your time here. We take great pride in providing superior service to our guests and we clearly missed the mark with your case. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and we'll use your feedback to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent a wonderful week at this Resort & Spa. Omni Hotels bought five elite Resorts & Spas' early in 2014 from KSL Capital and we are going to visit all of them!!! We have stayed at The Omni Grove Park this year also! Had such a wonderful experience there we are going back got Thanksgiving!!! The other three are on our 2015 bucket list. La Costa has great service, superb food, fabulous accommodations and gorgeous facilities! Adult pool was a nice touch for couples celebrating a special occasion! We noted that many of the Omni staff have been at this Resort 20 plus years...and, cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant and memorable. We cannot wait to return!!
Viva Omni La Costa...

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've always stayed at the LaCosta when in Carlsbad, CA. Would never consider anywhere else. The location and environment is beautiful and welcoming. Traveling alone, I always feel safe while on the property.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Gorgeous property and always a relaxing and inviting environment. You must visit the spa. It is one of the best in north America and do anything you can to get to a yoga class. the Chopra center is an amazing place and something you must try even if that's not your thing. This property is fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a terrific experience. We went to the resort as a family of five with young children with the sole purpose of having a relaxing time. La Costa provided all of that. i recommend this resort to anyone who would like an exceptional, relaxing vacation then this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome pool experience. Especially the two slides and personalized service for food and beverage! Food was excellent. Bistro 65 breakfast buffet and the omelette/waffle bar particularly enjoyable. Food for Electrical Reliability Services National Sales meeting was also excellent. Nice variety and enjoyed the popcorn maker as well as other snacks offered during meetings between meals.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.