We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but had issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
San Diego, California
1 review
“Nice hotel but had issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel itself was beautiful. The bath tub didn't work correctly and room service kept us waiting 2.5 hours and still got order wrong. The package deal had restrictions they forgot to mention and we ended up paying for things we couldn't even use. It was quiet and relaxing, but ended up waiting around more than anything. the room wasnt ready upon check in. so waited 3 hours at pool bar. then waited hungry for 2.5 hours for dinner and they still couldnt get it correct. Lots of dissapointment for a hotel my husband and i like.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Taylor S: It sounds as if you've stayed with us in the past and enjoyed your visit and we apologize for the experience you had recently. Our team is focused on reviewing your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    245
    146
    94
    63
See reviews for
356
179
66
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you are looking for a quick get away, think of La Costa Resort and Spa. You will feel like new after a lovely weekend at this beautiful place. Whether you go alone, as a couple, or taking the family to "Lego Land", La Costa has everything you need at your finger tips. I can't believe it has taken me so long to discover this great resort, I love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family stayed at the the Omni LaCosta in Carlsbad During February School Vacation. We found the service to be very friendly and professional and the grounds perfectly landscaped. All of our interactions with the staff were great. The pools were wonderful - exceptionally clean and beautifully situated. Since February vacation is unheard of in California it was also a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

There are way too many small children that are allowed to run all over the hotel, it’s become a giant childcare facility. The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday at Bistro 65 was terrible, cold food, poor selection, unsanitary conditions, no food descriptions, wrong items on the check with the wrong prices. Children were allowed to climb on chairs and play games in the eating area. A lot of yelling and screaming was going on the entire time we were there. The noise from across the hall and someone running around in the room above us kept us awake at night. I was told that this was the only room that was available that could meet my accommodations. I have given you three chances to make things right and it’s been a total failure on the part of Omni Hotels to deliver even a satisfactory stay one time. Prior to the last three stays, the experience was top notch. I don’t know what happened or why it’s changed but it’s been a change for the worse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear SteveM: We appreciate that you've shared your comments with us. We are so sorry that you did not have the tranquil experience you were seeking and are certainly taking this feedback to heart and reviewing with our team. Thanks for taking the time to post here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hospitality at this resort is so pleasant and pampered I not only return I am taking time to write this review. In all ways the room to the food to the golf. You can truly have a pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, checking in late in the dark. This resort is spread out over many acres so be prepared for long walks or a golf cart ride to get around. We eventually checked into Room 450 and after driving around in the dark with a map requiring a magnifying glass and several laps around compound.

We were in building 4 which is at far end of complex from lobby and dining and ajacent to a busy road. No sounds of surf, rather a four lane road with cars whiz zing by and then nearby highway noise. Note that buildings do not have visible numbers that can be seen easily from road and sidewalks.

Room was nice with a small patio on the ground floor. Next advemture was attempting to find the ice machine. Two phone calls to front desk later a bellman brought us a bucket of ice. Staff was unfailingly helpful and polite which helped mitigate a few detractions

Room 450 is close to rear parking lot which makes it easy to unload but then got to listen to whine of pool mechanical room for duration of stay. Great bed did not make up for overhead noise. People upstairs could have moved in with us as we heard every step and moving things around. Bathroom was spacious but chilly as heat vents are not in the area. Clogged bathroom sink was slow on day 1 and then totally clogged the morning we checked out

We tested out the Diversion lobby bar and the Bluefire restaurant. Margaritas were so-so so we did better with wine at Bluefire. Had very good swordfish dinner one night here. Diversions lobby bar was better on bar tending skills with more interesting drink options but was overrun with convention attendees so we moved to another area of hotel

Outdoor area were very attractive but it was unseasonably cool so we spent more time inside than out. Bring plenty of layers as temperature drops quickly after the sun goes down. We did not brave swimming pools which were attractive but too cold outside. There were a few people in hot tub near our building but they did not stay long due to cool night air.

If you play golf or tennis enthusiastically or want to spend more than room rate on a few hours of spa services and want to be in a sunny attractive spot, La Costa might fit the bill. If you want to be by the ocean with more of a local feel there are better choices.

Room Tip: Ask to be in building closer to lobby and shops unless you want to hike back and forth or wait for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear highlandbride: We are glad you took the time to visit us and that you enjoyed your guestroom and patio. It's unfortunate that we weren't able to have a bellman escort you to your room to provide a proper orientation and get you settled comfortably. We hope that you have an opportunity to pay us another visit as the weather warms up and we would love to introduce you to the other areas of the resort that would better suit your needs. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share your feedback with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful, clean, super friendly people, helpful.... Wow can't wait to go back.
Bed were super comfortable, rooms very spacious, huge bathrooms, honestly amazing!!!!
Lots of beautiful gardens, great food, and the price is very reasonable for all the luxury and comfort.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear monicaiza: We can't wait to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#22 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.