We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Costa Resort & Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 12%. Book Now.
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
PVE, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La Costa Resort & Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Brady Tennis Campers - Love this resort. Beautiful golf courses, a ton of tennis courts and clay courts to practice on. Food & desserts are delicious, there is no need to go outside the resort. Near ocean so the weather is nice and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Denise N: So glad you enjoyed the chance to relax without ever leaving the property. And terrific that you enjoyed our clay tennis courts as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    186
    119
    78
    56
See reviews for
278
145
54
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Costa is a great place for a quite retreat from a busy schedule. The only down point was the service in the Bistro for breakfast. It was very slow. Golf was good and the courses are in great shape for this time of the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear mrsmac: Thank you for your comments about the quiet retreat you enjoyed at Omni La Costa. We appreciate your comments about the great golf conditions as well as the critique of Bistro 65 service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My second stay at La Costa & the first time after they renamed themselves to 'Omni La Costa', however, I love it nevertheless! The grounds are beautiful, the staff are friendly and the front desk staff remembered me from my last visit too - which was tremendously endearing!

The check-in was speedy and my room was ready.. but I was a bit disappointed with the choice of room this time. For such a lengthy stay, by myself, I had a tiny room, quite a walk away from the seminar venue that faced the rear parking lot. I was, also, disappointed in not having a bath tub in the room - when I was really looking forward to a good soak after a 16.5 hrs trip and add the transit times from LAX, it could be a good 24hrs since I left home. Some of the attendees at my seminar (also staying by themselves) had a good suite with a bath, etc, so it was a bit of a let-down on the criteria for random upgrades.. Maybe the staff should pay closer attention to where their guests are flying from & use that as a yardstick too.

There were a few things that I noticed though, that could be room for improvement - especially for guests staying longer (and I've shared it with them on their check-out survey). So, if you're a guest flying internationally, you may want to carry an international plug converter/adapter as they do not provide those for guests any more. And definitely, do not forget your charger .. at all. lol.. I forgot mine and had to go down to the AT&T next to Albertsons (just outside & to the left of the property) to buy a new set.

Also, for those who like to shop on property (and possibly in their cute boutiques & stores around Carlsbad), if you're concerned about baggage, make sure you have a way to weigh your bags, because the Resort do not have a luggage scale, but the awesome bellstand staff were happy to make me an physical estimate by heaving my bags.. lol..

However, their restaurants are always super! For my last night, I arrived back late and starving and ran into Bistro 65 at 9:30pm with them closing at 10pm. They allowed me in very graciously and offered their daily special as well. I must say, their pan-seared Mahi Mahi on polenta was so delicious!! It was a quiet solo celebration, so I was very touched at the gesture. Oh, and their clam chowder was super amazing too!

All things considered, this is a great place and fantastic for me as I attend seminars held at the resort, so it is obviously my first & best choice. I've seen there are lovely attractions for my kids too, so I'm planning on taking them along with me then.. (just will have to time it when I'm not on a seminar!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear LuvenaR: Thank you for posting and for your loyalty to Omni La Costa! I've already shared your luggage scale idea with our retail director-- what a terrific suggestion. Also appreciate your comment about your guestroom preference. Next time you stay with us, please let us know if you're without a charger, as we can generally assist you with that. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

wow, is the word!!! gorgeous landscaping, great food, something for everyone to do , the spa has 40 treatment rooms, and all the techs are A+ customer service is at its best, whether you are there for a meeting or just relaxing.........loved and I would go back.....if you leave the resort plan on spending big dollars for taxi.....
**** all kinds of exercise available,

Room Tip: get close to the spa, you will spend a lot of time there!!! we stayed on ground unit.....a plus wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pam M: Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. Our team really appreciates your comments and we hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our 3rd time here. We were upgraded to a villa for our anniversary and loved it. Staff is wonderful here. Bluefire grill was wonderful.We will come over and over again because we love it here. The spa was great as always.We fell at home at La Costa and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member: Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased you chose to spend it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Awesome ladies weekend! Adult pool, spa, room and views were all highlights. We participated in beach walks, yoga, meditation and spin classes. A great time was had by all. Only complaint was Sunday brunch - meh. But we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member: We can't wait to welcome your ladies' group back for another getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Have never been and now wondering what took us so long to treat ourselves to a wonderful getaway. Staff was helpful and friendly. Not cheap but you get what you pay for in this world and we got a lot for our money with the golf package. Decent size room with french doors and private patio. Bathroom nicely remodeled. Round of golf and credit towards food and beverage! Unlimited use of driving range and practice facility too! A golfer's dream! The grounds are lovely. Next time will stay longer and make sure to visit fitness center and enjoy the spa and tennis! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. RAZRHWK: I am so pleased to hear that you treated yourself to an Omni La Costa golf vacation and that you felt the value was a good one. Our newly renovated Legends Course opens this month, so I hope this creates the perfect reason for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.