We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“So So Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent two nights at the resort during the San Diego Jazz Festival. Could not have had a better experience. The grounds, the rooms, the service all excellent! I'm into fitness and really enjoyed the gym and the different pools onsite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    286
    152
    99
    79
See reviews for
385
211
67
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The turn-off:

SPA front desk is HORRIBLE, she rejected me without ANY reason, just like "I dont feel like I want to let you enter to have half day pass in spa".

I think because of my accent, but after my husband call them they really changed their poor mind and they even give me refund! What a difference!!!!!!!!

The worst customer service experience ever, rude manager.

The staff seems completely unfamiliar with customer service in SPA.

No one ever said "I am very sorry"

I have never been made to feel like such inconvenience, what a shame

I will find another SPA, not a problem.

Good job rude girl !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just spent 10 days at the La Costa Spa and Resort in early June. The service was excellent, the staff top notch. the restaurants serve delicious food, the Spa is awesome. The grounds are superb. And very professionally kept. Beautiful Fountains everyone and lots of chairs on which to park oneself! Lots of jacuzzis everywhere. You will enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed on the Plaza complex and it was very close to shops etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I asked the front desk to change my credit card on file. A trainee didn't know how to remove one credit card in the system & replace it with another one so my old card ended up being billed. After I left, I discovered this error. Now, 45 days after my departure, I am still working with the Finance office to get the correct credit card billed. Sloppiness has occured many times. Emails are not read correctly. It may seem like they are handling things while you are on-site, but this was just a mirage.

Room Tip: My room was far away from the facilities so it was a nice walk, if it had not been raining that week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just spent two nights here at a meeting. The rooms were comfortable and nice. There is no turndown service and no newspaper delivery in the morning, two things that usually are offered at most high end hotels and resorts. They did a great job of getting me an early checkin on a Sunday (a super busy day for them). The only real negative was that we paid over $200 to play on the "championship" course and it was not in championship shape. In addition, there is no monitoring of play so we endured a 5 hour round behind a twosome of beginners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the most challenging hotel reservation experience I have ever had. I spoke to a reservation agent regarding a potential reservation. She recommended that I "have her hold the room for 24 hours, that way Im guaranteed the room is available for me if I decide to move forward with the reservation". I called back 30 minutes later to finalize it and was told "Yes I see you have a hold on that room". I was on the phone for 20 minutes with them putting me on and off hold then was asked me if a manager could call me back. Rebecca the manager called me and said the room wasn't available and that "The 24 hold did not guarantee the room would be held for me". What?!
She did not apologize and and was not empathetic to the fact that I had already finalized the room with others. After 35 minutes on the phone with Rebecca I booked a different smaller suite. She then emailed me a confirmation which was incorrect and showed a different room AND location then I booked. I called her and she said the reservation was sent by mistake during the process of us looking at rooms. How does their reservation system even allow for a mistake like that to happen? She emailed me another confirmation with the correct room but it did not mention that she would guarantee 2 beds in the room. I sent her an email right away and 24 hours later have still not heard from her. The whole experience was disappointing, unprofessional, and exhausting. On top of that I was never apologized to. We have used La Costa Resort in the past for large Corporate functions as well as individual rooms, always with an outstanding experience. Unfortunately it looks like that service is a thing of the past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Liza S: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's certainly not the kind of service we are known for and I really apologize that your reservation process didn't run more smoothly. Our reservation director would like to offer her personal assistance, so if you are open to that, please email us at community@lacosta.com with your contact information and she'll reach out to you. Again, we appreciate that you took the time to post a review so we can share it with the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What started as a business trip and then turned into a girl's weekend ended up being an amazing trip to an awesome destination! The grounds are so beautiful. The food was fresh and the staff took the time to ensure my food allergies were respected.
The spa is a destination that every woman should put on her list of 'must experience'.
The conference facilities were great. Only issue is that the views of the grounds and all that sunshine was distracting!

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for a room by the garden pools, which are family oriented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Hotel
La Costa Carlsbad
La Costa Resort
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#24 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.