We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, romantic getaway success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Omni La Costa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
1 review
“Wow, romantic getaway success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

what a great weekend we had at La Costa. Rest relaxation and recovery. Highly recommended for busy couples looking for some together time. The spa was magnificent with full lunch on the patio and champagne in the hot tub. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Bob,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed a relaxing getaway from hectic life and chose to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    289
    155
    99
    79
See reviews for
389
213
68
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The spa setting and services were relaxing, hiqh quality and affordable. It made the trip worth it because most of the stay we experienced rain/mist. There is plenty to do on site. Make sure you stroll the entire property to admire the landscaping. Least favorite part of stay was the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi scgalinsd,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our spa and look forward to passing on your kind words to the team.

We'd be interested in learning more about what you think we could do to improve the experience in the rooms. We are consistently looking for ways to improve our services so we always appreciate the feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

La Costa provides a lovely property that offers a nice selection of resort activities or places just to relax. There are beautiful pools, a top rated spa, and golf course at your doorstep. The
location makes it easy to drive to the nearby beaches and restaurants along the coast.
Encinitas is just a couple miles away and has a full selection of restaurants and shops to explore. It is a typical relaxed beach community with easy access to the ocean.
La Costa should meet your expectations as a first class resort property. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The casitas are quite nice for their patio space and kitchen amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Blacktieranch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really love the vibe of LaCosta - it's spacious, relaxing, has an adorable little shopping village, a great gym and amazing spa all right there. It's a fabulous escape/decompression spot for a few days if this is what you are looking for! Lots of my friends with children like it alot because of the kiddie options as well. Visit the Chopra center for a real tranquil experience - if you need a bit of R&R - go to LaCosta friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Jeannie,,
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your favorite La Costa experiences with us. As part of our redesign, we really aimed to cater to needs of families and adults looking for a relaxing getaway. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends both found our resort to offer this type of vacation.

We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed over Thanksgiving this year. The property is immaculate and breathtaking. Beautiful grounds with lush vegetation. The rooms were very, very clean and impeccable. Bathrooms (love bathrooms) were gorgeous with a deep soaking tub and separate huge shower. Wonderful view of the pool. Great food. Close to many shopping areas, dining, beach. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Yvonne,

It's so wonderful to hear from guests that have stayed with us during the holidays as our team works hard to really make these days special. Thank you so much for sharing this feedback with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at the La Costa Resort in a newly remodeled "Tennis Room". The newly decorated room was gorgeous with a deep soaking tub, separate shower and a comfortable bed (although our room was in desperate need of new pillows - neck pain inducing!!!). My wife purchased some beautiful pieces from the Lilly Pulitzer boutique which is on the premises and had the opportunity to meet a local designer - Heather Milone (who my wife is all too fond of...I should own stock, if I don't already) during a trunk show. The Spa and Golf facilities lived up to their longstanding status as being preeminent in the area. Looking forward to my early 2013 return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Bignicklaw,

We are so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your two-night stay here with us. It's so wonderful to hear from guests who have had unique experiences, such as your wife meeting designer, Heather Milone. Our retail team has done a great job bringing in such talented designers and we love hearing that this passion is shared with our guests.

We, too, look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a fabulous two night stay at La Costa Resort with our two boys, ages 3 & 5. We stayed in the La Costa room (had to upgrade so our room had a tub for their nightly bath) and got the Holiday Experience rate so we had $180/day in food credits, $45 spa and $95 golf credits, etc. I did the math and thought it was a pretty good deal, especially because we could use some credit toward the Kidtopia Kid's Club as well. My boys enjoyed Kidtopia, and I found it to be adequately staffed and the kids said it was fun. I spent the morning at the La Costa Spa, and indulged in an AMAZING hot stone massage while my husband played a round of golf. We even took part in the Family Golf Clinic that was offered that afternoon, and Coach AJ was AWESOME with my two little guys!

The best thing about La Costa is how it's so family-friendly. My boys loved the children's pool area, complete with a Splash Zone and two waterslides-- even a small one that my 5 year-old could ride! They also looked forward to going to the arcade before dinner each night, and visiting the ice cream shop inside the Marketplace.

We had dinner the first night at Legends, on site, and it was fabulous. The next day, we ate at Bluefire, the hotel's new restaurant. The ambiance was nice and the chef came up to greet us, however, I preferred Legends because of the more casual atmosphere and the food was just as good.

The only bad part of this trip was our room service breakfast (Ugh- hash brown bricks) and when I got the bill. Other reviewers have mentioned all of the additional fees, and they added an additional $67/night to our room. That on top of our already expensive nightly-rate gave me one big headache at check-out! All in all, I would go back to La Costa in a second-- I will just be looking for a budget rate and will probably skip the room upgrade the next time around!

Room Tip: La Costa Room by the tennis area, nice, quiet, and the ground floor had a fun walk out patio to a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCostaManagement, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Missamiann,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your La Costa experience. We are so glad to hear that your little ones had such a great time on the waterslides, in Vibz playing arcade games and during golf lessons with AJ. We look forward to sharing this feedback with him.

We're very pleased to hear that you found the Experience Vacation Package fitting to your getaway needs - it really is a great value for guests looking to make the most of their stay with us.

We also appreciate your feedback on breakfast and resort fees. We'll review these comments with our team and discuss how to make the check-out process smoother.

We're very much looking forward to passing your kind words onto our spa, golf and Legends Bistro teams. Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Hotel
La Costa Carlsbad
La Costa Resort
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#24 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.