We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what's written on the tin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
open2some
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not quite what's written on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the first time we have spent a vacation in the Palisades after buying into the timeshare in 2012, we had previously stayed at Hilton's Marbrisa which is affiliated to the resort.

Although we did arrive early and could expect not to get our room at 1pm we did not expect to wait nearly 5 hours for one to be ready! We did complain about our wait and the duty manager compensated us $50. I also agree that the front end of the resort needs to tighten up its service to customers and I would give customer service / reception 5/10.

We stayed in a two bedroom apparently newly renovated villa, the renovation must have been in the main living area, (which was nice) and not the bathrooms and small bedroom as they were quite dated. They were not a patch on the Marbrisa resort we had previously stayed in.

That said the position and amenities in the resort were very good and the Olympic size swimming pools with its views were excellent. It was also good having the Karl's Strauss brewery attached to the resort which had good beer and food.

I am sure if the resort tightens up the front end and refreshes its rooms it will get 4 stars in future reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi open2some,
At Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel we are committed to the highest standards of making sure our guests are enjoying their visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding the long wait to receive a room and our front desk staff. We will certainly share this information with our respective teams. Should you have any additional items you would like to discuss, we invite you to please contact us me at adolan@gpresorts.com or 760-827-3200. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    187
    97
    47
    44
See reviews for
473
147
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was our 17th anniversary and we decided to stay at Grand Pacific Palisades. We had heard GREAT things about this place. It met and even exceeded our expectations! We stayed there for 3 nights and the room was decorated amazingly, with a towel cake covered with hearts, two swans on the bed kissing which made the shape of a heart. They sent us a bottle of champagne when they knew we were celebrating our anniversary. The property and staff were amazing. The landscaping and views from the pool were fantastic ocean views! The front desk folks went out of their way to give us any little thing they could to help us. We only wish we had had time to try the breakfast at Karl Strauss.We had heard that it is excellent. We couldn't have been happier and want to come back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Arrive on time or after 5 p.m. to check in, but not too late!
See more room tips
Green Features: I LOVED the eco-friendly products they used--recycled paper products, eco-friendly practices with towels, recycling bins under kitchen sinks, only washing towels when needed, etc. The entire place/staff has that caring for the environment vibe about it.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi sunnygood,
Happy 17th anniversary and congratulations! We're so happy to hear how great your time spent with us was. It's great to know you enjoyed the bottle of champagne and our favorite special touch - the origami! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a room at this property several months ago. This time, we had a two bedroom villa suite. We arrived early and were allowed an early check-in, as the suite was ready. I really can't think of enough good things to say about the staff, the public rooms, the suite itself, the shuttle service, the pool areas. We were treated like royalty by everyone we encountered. The underground parking was convenient to elevators and luggage carts were always available. The suite kitchen had everything one might need. We really wanted to use the fireplace, but the weather was so perfect that we couldn't justify it. During both visits, we've missed the flower season, but next time we'll make a point of checking before we make a reservation. There are some terrific restaurants nearby. The Bistro West was particularly enjoyable. North San Diego County has a great deal to offer and this property is located close to most everything. There are antique stores in Solana Beach that are not common knowledge, but are great fun. We just need a longer visit next time.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, but having a two bedroom suite with a kitchen and dinin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Grand Pacific Palisades appears to be making every effort to be environmentally concerned and making efforts in that area.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom timeshare at this resort and loved it. The timeshare was updated and clean. The resort was family oriented and we enjoyed using the grill outside. I was told the kids pool was heated but it was often cold, but the kids didn't mind of course. The kitchen had every amenity we needed to cook dinner. The beach was a 10 minute drive away. The only thing I did not like was the house keeping only coming two days. I think it should be more often when you are staying for 7 nights. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Overall this is a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 days with our three children in a 2-bedroom suite and loved the resort. My 4wd-Excursion with Yakima bars was simply too tall for the underground parking, so they just had me park in the valet spots outside - no xtra charge. The staff was very friendly, we always saw them smiling. My oldest daughter loved the game room with the air hockey table. My older son loved the video game room. We all enjoyed the family pool (I did laps mostly).
We walked to LegoLand for several days of our visit, went to San Diego to visit the USS Midway, etc, never a problem. The TVs were large, and for the kids novel since we don't do TV at home (tho everyone has their own laptop). What they soon learned is that TV is boring even with 100's of channels - which frankly is a great outcome from my perspective!
We enjoyed having a well-stocked kitchen for my personal dietary needs, and also tried the nice restaurant/brewery next door (a favorite of my wife). It is close to Costco and WholeFoods, our two favorite stores, so that made it feel a bit like home, too. We enjoyed the stay and definitely will be back

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom suites are roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am part of a group of high school friends who gathered to celebrate our 66 birthdays together. This is the second year we have gone to this resort. It was wonderful to have the front desk staff reconginze us when we arrived. Other staff checked on us frequently to be sure we didn't need anything. The rooms are beautiful and so well equipped. Because we are a large group (16) we prefer to have our meals at the villa and the large villas are pefect for accomodating so many for dinner. We had a total of 3 units. We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was an ocean view on the 3rd floor. We like the convenience of being near the elevator and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We used our timeshare to stay a week at this location. The first thing we said was "this is a great place to bring a family". It was well attended and they cater to the family as well as the older travelers without kids. The two areas were separate and apart from one another. There was a lot for the kids to do and the resort staff provided extra options. The BBQ areas were good and close except one set of Q's wouldn't light without matches or starters. The activities staff were a bit remiss in not explaining what they offered as a resort. Still, once you find out what they offer it is OK.

Green Features: good recycling options and they seem to engage the environment friendly practices eco friendly washers and driers
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.