We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - Great Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Stay - Great Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with the family after signing up for a Hilton Vacations timeshare offer. We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right next to Legoland which was the main reason we stayed here. Legoland is just a quick walk to the park entrance. The pools at the hotel are great and heated. They have a lot of kids activities which the kids enjoyed. The rooms were fairly small but worked out fine. We all liked the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. The staff was great especially the concierge staff. They were very informative and helped with a number of requests. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi awaisman,

Thank you for sharing your review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're so delighted that you and your family had a great time, and we hope you enjoyed visiting Legoland! We look forward to having you all back again soon!

Take care,
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    176
    88
    48
    39
See reviews for
445
133
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Won't stay here again. Filthy dirty and old outdated furniture (see picks) in room. Room 248 on 2nd floor (2 bdrm) facing pool is not good . Had to leave deck one night as fellow guest was wading, hacking up loogies and spitting them out in pool (thought I was gonna barf). No hair dryer in either bath. We waited an hour for them to deliver but never showed up. When we returned late that night one was wrapped around room's door handle . Took me quite a while to get it all untangled (very strange "service"?). Heavy sale pitches for the new property they are building. Why would I even consider buying there when they can't even keep this place up to par? One of the strangest things was that hot water filled the toilet in the master bedroom's bath when you flush. Lots of traffic congestion going in and out of legoland Hilton needs to get their act together on this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi sadHGVCowner,

On behalf of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel we would like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your most recent stay. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with an amazing experience and we are sorry if this was not the case during your visit. We would like the chance to speak with you further regarding your stay and invite you to send your contact information to hansley@gpresorts.com . I would love to speak with you about this further.

Take care,
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

All was good except the mattress pad made a sort of squeaky noise when you move on the bed. Two materials must be not compatible. The hotel was clean, comfortable and in a great area. The mattress issue was the only negative.





  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days to visit Los Angeles and San Diego. The place was very good. It had all the necessities required for a perfect vacation. There were all the amenities in the kitchen. I booked a villa. The place was very spacious and had nice rooms. I liked every moment I spent in the rooms. Sleep quality was very good. Will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi ArunPatyal,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resorts and Hotel. We sure hope you had an amazing time exploring Los Angeles and Sand Diego. We hope we can accommodate you again the next time you're visiting Carlsbad!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Pacific Palisades Resort, a Hilton Vacation Club Resort,
the end of November for 5 days, into the first days of December.
This trip was part business, part pleasure.
Our room was facing the portico of the front of the hotel, palm trees were
right outside in front of our balcony. We enjoyed our location and could
observe the comings and goings of everyone, plus if you sat out on the balcony you could hear
Christmas Carols playing very softly from the resort speakers.

The resort lobby was beautiful with a large Christmas tree greeting everyone as they
walked in. The people at the front desk were very warm and friendly, helpful and polite.
We immediately felt welcomed.

The resort is very tranquil and well laid out. There is a main pool for laps, and for adults right outside the lobby back area..and then across the grounds a short walk there is a children's pool complete with all the fun water toys and activities a child could hope for. We saw several hot tubs, and enjoyed two fire pits that were lit nightly.

The view is amazing! You back right up to the Flower Gardens.
Nothing was growing at that time of the year, but it did nothing to distract from the view in the distance of the Pacific Ocean. There is also a very nice walkway that winds around the back of the resort that we enjoyed several morning walks on. That was a nice surprise! Beautiful Bird of Paradise flowers in bloom everywhere. The delight of watching so many hummingbirds go from bloom to bloom...plus other beautiful birds as well. Many great photo opportunities!

About the room: just a few thoughts but nothing that was awful. The beds are soft, possible mattress replacement is due..however it didn't bother our sleep. The furniture is fine with the exception of...in our room at least, the area where the Keurig coffee maker sits, needs replacing. The wood is worn, stained and chipped. Also, when we checked in, we found we were left four coffees, which was fine, but they were all decaffeinated coffee. A quick call to room service promptly fixed that and we were provided with other coffee choices.

Another room issue, was the lack of drawer space..and the lack of floor space to put your suitcases without tripping over them. No luggage racks were in the closet. The room we had was laid out so that there really wasn't any floor space to put your suitcases except for in front of the patio doors, or in front of the door out of the room. Neither good choices. Also, the bedside clock had no backlight to it, so at night if you rolled over and wanted to check the time...nothing. Just blackness. If needed, we used out mobile phone to check the time in the dark.

The TV: It wasn't easy to use. In our room we had to do a channel search ..and wait for a signal
before we could get TV reception. Possibly this was just a situation in the room we were occupying but thought I'd mention it. It presented too much of a problem so we didn't watch the TV which was fine for us.

Food/Dining: There is room service, but the hours are not great. All food comes from the Karl Strauss Brewery which is located next to the resort. A minus in our opinion is that breakfast isn't served until 7AM. It was carried across the parking lot, and with that delivery, a simple breakfast costing $11 something, two eggs, hash browns and 2 slices of bacon...totaled $18. There is a steep up charge for delivery, gratuity etc. Plus the walk across the parking lot is enough time for your food too cool a bit should there be a delay in delivery.

One other thing worth mentioning is the lack of outlets in the room. Both my husband and I have phones, laptops, iPad etc. all needing recharging at night. The first night the only choice was to pull back the mattresses from the wall to use the two outlets there. We found upon waking that nothing was charged because you needed to turn on the wall switch by the bathroom that controls the far corner lamp in order to activate the outlets behind the bed. We then called down and asked for a power strip and were given one right away. This helped a little..but for some reason we were not able to get full..normal time recharges on our devices.

Now there is one other thing to be aware of if you are going to stay at Grand Pacific Palisades.
This is a Hilton Vacation Club Resort. That being said...no one bothered up or stopped us to give us any solicitation. However, there were numerous messages left on our phone to "not forget to stop by the desk downstairs to pick up your discount packet of coupons for local attractions".
We listened to the first message..deleted it, and then just left the light on the phone blinking as more messages to pick up the wonderful discount packets were left on our phone.
Easy enough to ignore the flashing light.
If you respond or go to get the coupons, which probably aren't that great anyway, you are setting yourself up to hear a bit about the Hilton Vacation Club.
Again, I must tell you that no one bothered up or approached us the entire time we were there.
But, beware of the discount packet call. Avoid it, unless you're interested.

The resort is across the street from a large outlet mall...and also, next to the quaint downtown area of Carlsbad. We ate at a very nice Italian restaurant downtown Carlsbad called Vigilucci's. The food was wonderful. Medium to high prices depending on what you ordered. Great service. Very nice Old Italy ambiance.

Now, would we go back to the Grand Pacific Palisades?
Yes, absolutely!
There are some things that need to be worked on, but it's a beautiful resort in a
nice area, with beautiful views...and a great view of the Pacific. The resort sits atop of a hill so all views are great.

Of course, it is our hope that some of the things I mentioned might be attended to, which would just increase the appeal of this nice resort.

It's really a lovely resort and we hope to go back again another time.
I hope this review helps if you are planning a trip to the Carlsbad area.
We hope to attach some personal photos.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room location, I am not familiar with other room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
HI Victoria N.,
Thank you for sharing your review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel on Trip Advisor. We greatly hope you enjoyed the view from your room and easy access to the outlets and some amazing restaurants and shops. We very much appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Take care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Convenient parking and easy check-in started our stay in a timeshare villa. The initial assignment did not work for us. My wife has mobility problems and the tub-shower arrangement in the first unit presented a problem for her. A call to the front desk was handled by Sean, who knocked himself out finding a unit that would work for us. He offered to help us move and met us at the new unit, so that we wouldn't need to go all the way back to the front desk for the new keys.

Throughout our stay, every member of the staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating. The units, while showing a bit of age, are well maintained and clean. Housekeeping responded within 10 minutes if we needed something. In fact, housekeeping called several times during our stay to see if we needed anything else. Very helpful and efficient approach that more timeshares should consider.

Nice fitness center with relatively new equipment. Two very nice pools, including one adults only pool. Beautiful landscaping and a great location. We have stayed here several times and, if anything, the staff was even more attentive than on previous stays. It appears that some renovation may be in the works, so we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Barry U,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're thrilled you had a great stay, and would like to apologize for the bit of a rough beginning. Our staff, like Sean, are always making sure our guests are being accommodated and enjoying their stay. We're glad he could be of help! We're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Take care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The resort property is beautiful the hot tub and pools are awesome. Very well kept right beside Lego Land. Nice area to go for walk or jog.Staff is friendly and helpful. Game room, activity room and work out faciltiy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
Charming, Beach...
Show More
1.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Hilton Carlsbad Oceanfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.3 mi away
LEGOLAND California Hotel
LEGOLAND California Hotel
#21 of 34 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#26 of 34 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#1 of 34 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.