We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest property to Legoland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Closest property to Legoland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

2 qu bed room was 3 star at a 4.5 star resort. Closest to Legoland (you can walk) Great activities for kids. Service was great (issue with dvd player, replaced within 10 min. Of call) and didn't get a hard sell on timeshare....FYI this is a timeshare resort. If you like beer the restaurant on site is great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    215
    111
    50
    45
See reviews for
523
163
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and not once did our room get cleaned. You have to call the front desk every time you need towels or other amenities. They also charge a daily resort fee of $16. Be careful where your room is located or you will be awakened by car alarms, people playing basketball or screams coming from the pool.

Room Tip: Try the Sheraton. The cost doesn't vary much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Are family stayed the week of July 15th thru July 22nd for the celebration of our 40th Anniversary. The front desk was very friendly and informative, all the staff that we encountered at the resort greeted us with a smile and how can I help, especially Gene ( in maintenance). Our granddaughter who is 4 years old loved the children's pool which also had a water park area w/a slide. On Saturdays next to the children's pool the activity dept brings out a Bouncy House, also a hit.
Barbeques are provided for your use and we took advantage of this. Location is next to Legoland and Costco.
Can't wait till next summer to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside County, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Grand Pacific excels in customer service. I was very impressed with all the staff that I ran across, from the front desk, to the concierge to the managers, all took the time to be friendly and to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The room was clean as well as the pools. There is a splash park area where kids can play next to the family pool.
They have an adult pool that was empty most of the time. I have been to other resorts where the "adult pool" is called the "quiet pool" and as long as your kids behave, you can be in a more relaxing environment. It works well, but I know a lot of hotels have the "adult pool" and it just is what it is. It's not a fault of the hotel, per say, but being that the adult pool was vacant and the family pool was loaded to the max, the small change would be nice.
All in all, a very nice place to stay, and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The hotel is next to Lego-Land. The rooms on the end of the hallways had two windows and when open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Let me start by saying that if you want to avoid the traffic and long parking lines to get into Legoland, this is the place. Also,the beaches of Carlsbad are less crowded than San Diego so they are convenient as well. Having Karl Srauss on the premises is a major plus .We stayed in the two bedroom suite that was very spacious and nicely appointed. My kids had just as much fun playing at the family pool as they did at the waterpark in Legoland. Although it can get crowded on weekends at the family pool, they do open the adult pool to families as well. If you do stay in a condo make sure you bring plenty of food to barbecue as there are many barbecues conveniently located near the family pool. Holly, the general manager will go out of her way for you with any questions or complaints that you may have. We did have a minor mishap on our last stay and after contacting Holly, she immediately remedied the situation, and went above and beyond to make us happy. That type of service is pretty rare these days.
You'll find the staff to be pleasant and cordial, from the maintenance workers, to the maids and even the gal passing out fresh cookies to the people in the lobby.
Overall we had a great week and we look forward to our next stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

stayed @ gpp for a week! check in was fast and simple. we were greeted by friendly staff however seem like some lack off and lazyness and not to helpful. a young lady by the name of olga checked us in and provided all the right information for the kids and us to enjoy our vacation to the fullest.
Our 2 bedroom suite was beautful olga was able to work her magic to provide us with a room across from the kids pool know that our kids are our priority. we had also asked for a crib for our 4 month old and they said it be in our room in a short period of time and it sure did i was superised in how quick that was i expected a longer wait since it was so busy and soo many people therethe view was beautiful, kids loved the pool, hot tube was great and also gpp had there ativiety for kids to keep them busy through out the days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because the one we had booked was awful and we left. We got this on a bidding site. Check in was nice and simple. Rooms were very nice and view was beautiful. The adult pool area is very nice looking but traveling with kids we used the family pool. The pool area was ok. It looked a bit moved in the pictures and the water play area had a big yellow caution tape all around one of the play structures. The pool was pretty busy and the hot tub was full. There is no service at the pool (drinks, snacks etc) We found out that this is a timeshare place and that people who live in the area buy a timeshare and are able to use the pool whenever they want so that may be why it gets pretty full. The majority of the people we spoke to really liked this place and they were all just there using the pool and lived in the area or had family in the area who could use the pool. It was a nice stay but for the right price only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.