We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Grand stay at the GPP Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Grand stay at the GPP Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I traded a time share week at this Resort. We have two Time Share Resorts that are rated "Gold Crown" with RCI and this Resort is as wonderful, and in some ways more elegant. We had a two bedroom, ocean view, with full kitchen. Very clean, nicely decorated, and the grounds and facilities superb. The kiddie pool is a wonderful playarea. The adult pool has two large hot tubs and firepits. The nearby "on-site" restaurant was basically a bar-food establishment. However, many restaurants and an Outlet Mall with many restaurants is less than a mile away. Easy access to the Interstate. I would recommend this Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
The Grand Pacific Palisades Team thanks you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay. Our Staff is truly dedicated to providing our Guests with memorable happy moments doing our best to ensure all of your needs are continuously meet. We are very excited that we are coming into the season for Carlsbad's World Famous Flower Fields to bloom, along with our panoramic ocean views and nearby outlet shopping and restaurants, Grand Pacific Palisades Resort & Hotel is the perfect vacation destination. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Holly Ansley - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    210
    107
    49
    45
See reviews for
512
159
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here for the week in a two bedroom suite. The rooms were a little out dated. When booking make sure to ask for a high floor. We could hear the people on the floor above us. The kids had a good time. There is free WiFi.The pool area is nice for children and they have an adult only pool near the main hotel area. The fitness center was decent.The last time we were in Carlsbad we stayed at the Four Seasons Aviara so this might be a little unfair compared to a 5-star. The Four Seasons had daily cleaning, free activities for kids, free childcare at the Hyatt, washer/dryer in the unit,etc. The GPR had activities for the kids during the day, but they charged for most of them. They only had towel service on Tues/thurs- no full room cleaning.
If you are spending a lot of time at Legoland then this is a great spot. Also, it is a block up from the Outlets and many restaurants. MAKE SURE TO SHOW YOUR AAA CARD so that you can get your resort fees waived. This was huge in saving $$$.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week from the 5th of Feb. We had beautiful weather although not really hot enough for us to use the pool, others did though. We had a one bedroom and found it to be quite large especially since it was just the two of us staying there. We always do a lot of cooking in our units and we found that everything we needed was there. I would be nice to have bar-b-ques a litter closer to the stairs. We were on the third floor. I really like the underground parking it was convenient and we stayed dry on the one rainy day. Groceries were a short drive away as were many other amenities. We had dinner at Carl Strauss one night and neither of us were impressed.
We had two occasions to call for service repairs and were very pleased that both times they were prompt and friendly and efficient.
Everyone was extremely friendly from the front desk to the maintenance to the valet. Great Resort..

Room Tip: If you like to Bar-b-que ask for a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
On the behalf of Grand Pacific Palisades, I would like to sincerely say thank you for your wonderful comment. We do our best to make sure each and every guests has the best experience. Thank you again. Holly Ansley - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at this resort for the first time. We were celebrating a special occasion - my husband's 50th birthday, and since he loves Karl Strauss, I thought this was a perfect spot to celebrate a very special day.

When we first arrived, we were greeted by the front desk staff who were friendly and extremely helpful. The resort has an underground parking structure which is easy to get to from the resort entrance. The structure was well planned out that it made it incredibly easy for us to unload our car and bring our luggage to our room with just one trip.

Upon our arrival, we walked over to Karl Strauss restaurant which is right next to the resort. They also have an awesome breakfast buffet so we didn't have to drive elsewhere.

We have stayed at many hotels in the past, but this resort was no doubt, THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!! Everyone was friendly and helpful from front desk to housekeeping and in between. The property is beautifully landscaped. It was like being in paradise! Our room was very well equipped and our favorite feature was having a balcony and sliding door to let in the fresh air. We had a beautiful view of the palm trees and ocean. It is walking steps to Karl Strauss which is a great place to dine at for great food and drinks.

All in all, we fell in love with this place and we are already making plans to come here soon with our two young boys. We can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment about the staff here at Grand Pacific Palisades. There is such a wonderful TEAM here and we all have a great passion to serve all of our guests. We are looking foward to having you return. Thank you again. Holly Ansley- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Crazy Helpful Staff in a Great LocationDate:February 1, 2012

Best things about resort- Locations, views, spacious rooms, and the best staff we have seen in 10+ years of Resort travel.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby- Private entrance to Leggoland, great nearby beaches, loads of shopping, easy drive to Zoo and Wild Animal Park or DIsney

Review- One of the best places that we have stayed, and by far the best staff of any place we have been in more than 10 years. Great view of the Pacific Ocean overlooking the flower fields. Right next to Leggoland, so kids were thrilled. They have heated pools- one for adults only and one for the whole family (with a great Spalsh park and jacuzzi). Game room, activities room, walking paths, on sight with Karl Strauss brewery. Room was fantastic, full kitchen means full kitchen with everything you would have at home. Oh and the staff, did we mention the great staff? Overall a fantastic visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. Our group consisted of my husband, our 4 yr old and 5 month old daughters, and my parents! This place was awesome! It featured a large kitchen, and living room area, with a wonderful balcony. The unit could of been updated (the Tv's are still tube style) but overall it was very roomy, comfortable and suited our needs very well.

The bedrooms were large, and the beds were very comfortable! Having two bathrooms was great! The second bedroom having a cheater door to the bathroom was a nice feature.

We toured the timeshare presentation and had a chance to see some of the updates and it was clear, that upon updating the rooms it would be completely stunning!

The only complaint I have is the floors are NOT soundproof at all. The guests above us had little to no regard for the fact that their were others below them! They let their children run wild above us and it was nuts! We contacted the front desk and they let the people above us know and the problem was corrected. So my advice to you is this, if you are staying in a hotel/condo suite and your regular home is not of this making, remember that sound proofing is not the same as a single dwelling, where you have no one below you! It always amazes me the way some people act while staying in a hotel/condo! Please show respect for your neighbors!

The pools!! The kids pool and hot tub area was awesome! Although the weather was not as hot as it could of been to take advantage of this. The adult pool is warmer than the kids pool, and the hot tub is super nice for relaxing! The view from the adult pool area and hot tub is incredible!

The resort also being a timeshare property does offer a lot of activities for the kids!

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Connect with me on facebook at www.facebook.com/AmandaEvansCC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Although I was only at this resort and hotel for one night, I found the staff to be very nice and the amenities to be quite clean and comfortable. The room was small to medium with two full size overstuffed beds, an array of miniture kitchen applicances (microwave, refrigerator etc.), TV, desk etc. The bathroom was clean and spacious with plenty of towels.

The second floor is a mixture of hotel and conference rooms. My only suggestion is if you stay on the second floor try not to stay next door to the laundry and/or ice/vending machine room. I heard running water extremely early in the morning, which was slightly annoying.

Room Tip: Skip the second floor and/or avoid a room next to the laundry room and you will have a great experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#19 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.