We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Carlsbad
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The location is stunning although a little disappointing that our room did not have a view despite being a suite. We chose it because it had a kitchenette which was very useful. With a toddler it makes a big difference. The breakfast had a good choice of food- not a huge amount of hot dishes but plenty for us - cereal, lots of bread, fruit and yogurt etc.
However, what stood out for us were the staff who went out of their way to help and were very patient with a little curious boy!. Dorothy at breakfast became my little boy's favorite friend and Gilbert made sure that the pool was all ready for him to go swimming- which we did every evening. Erik and Mac at the front desk also were very helpful. Unfortunately, I heard that they are going to be doing some renovations and removing the kitchenettes and laid off all the staff. This is unfortunate as the kitchenette was the reason I picked it and the staff would be the reason why we would go back- I guess we won't be going there again:-(

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Jeannie,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience with us! I am so pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our incredible location and that our amazing staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

This week, we are completing our remarkable rooms renovation. Please know that most of our Suites retained their beloved Kitchenettes. In fact, we have installed full-sized refrigerators, brand new microwaves and sinks, coffee makers and improved eat-in kitchen functionality to upgrade this space. Furthermore, most of the staff that you were so kind to compliment are here and ready to welcome back all of our loyal guests!

I certainly hope that these updates will inspire you and your family to return for another joyful stay with us! If there is anything that I may do to assist, please do not hesitate to give me a call at 760-729-1151.

Thank You,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    97
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
119
95
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We knew the hotel was an older establishment, but felt for the price paid for rooms, everything should work perfectly in the rooms. The 'breakfast' was sparse and uninviting. The only thing good about staying there was - it was across the street from the ocean/beach. Have stayed in many B/W, some older that were more inviting and better amenities, ambiance than this one. It's really not up to B/W expectations we think. If up that way again, we will look for other accommodations Sorry, B/W..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello Jean,

I appreciate the time that you took to share your less than remarkable experience with us. And I sincerely apologize that our property did not fulfill your expectations. Please know that in an effort to offer our guests an experience that parallels our incredible beach-side location, we recently embarked upon an extensive rooms renovation. Fresh paint, carpet, furniture, bathrooms and appliances are being installed at this precise moment in preparation for our reopening on February 14th. I certainly hope that you will consider offering us another chance to truly "wow" you with our updates.

If I may offer any assistance to you, please feel free to reach me at 760-729-1151.

We hope to see you soon,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location, friendly and helpfull staff, clean and comfortable beds. We had a restful sleep after a day in Legoland, enjoyed free breakfast at the hotel's oceanview lounge and a walk along the beach the next morning. We would like to recommend this hotel to everyone. It worths the money even though it is not a luxury hotel. We did not have time to check out Carlsbad downtown, it looked interesting when we drove by

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for recommending our hotel, Hung! Now that you have had the opportunity to explore Legoland, we hope that you come back soon to stroll through historic Carlsbad Village. With over 30 restaurants within walking distance and a family-friendly beach just right across the street, I am certain that your family would enjoy another weekend with us!

Please let me know if I can assist with your future visit. My friendly staff and I can be reached at 760-729-1151.

Thanks again for your support,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My stay at this location is always pleasant and the hotel is well kept and comfortable. I strongly recommend it for both business and pleasure. The hotel has a beautiful view of the ocean and is within easy walking distance of many great eateries and other fun places to hang-out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I were in Carlsbad for a much-needed vacation. After checking out a number of places in the area, we went with the Best Western Plus. We got an increidble rate and that factors into the rating.

-Our room was large and clean, with a balcony which, if you sit right, you can see the ocean. We had a fridge and microwave and a large tv.
- The secret to this place is the breakfast room/breakfast balcony which looks right out onto the ocean.
- The staff were super friendly
- You are across the street from the ocean and 2 blocks from Carlsbad Village. From the village you can take the train to San Diego if you wish.
- Breakfast is cereal, danish/bagel and jimmy dean sandwiches.

All in all, when we come back to S.D. we will stay here!

Room Tip: Do 3rd floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Beachview lodge is located steps from the beach in Carlsbad. One of the most relaxing and scenic locations in California. Restaurants and great shopping just minutes away. Great for one night or more. I personally love the room with a fire place during the fall and Winter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is across the street from the beach and within two short blocks of Carlsbad Village. My room was very clean and everything was i working order; the shower, the air conditioner, and the heater which is built into the ceiling and is wonderfully silent. The bed was especially comfortable. Mac, at the front desk, was professional and friendly. The breakfast room is very inviting and overlooks the ocean. The breakfast attendant, Dorothy, kept the serving table full and spotless. She was very attentive to her guests. All in all a "great place to stay!".

Room Tip: My room was toward the back which I liked, because I couldn't hear road noise. There was a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.